View Full Version : Elite Cities any good?
chronol
December 26th, 2000, 06:56
I've read what they offer and it looks pretty promising,
but what is the catch?
Mrh0ax
December 26th, 2000, 07:05
well, they look like they just got up, i wouldnt mind joining with them if they had cgi and php
as long as the ad was placable :)
chronol
December 26th, 2000, 07:41
Originally posted by Mrh0ax
as long as the ad was placable :)
They are supposed to have no ads!?
Mrh0ax
December 26th, 2000, 09:54
calm down sparky :D
what i meant when i said that is cuz they need money if they offer all that and no ads
so if they had that they would probley have ads, and if they had cgi and php, with ads i would want that service to have ads placable
chronol
December 26th, 2000, 10:38
I'm sorry, I didn't want to sound that blunt
in my last post.
I've checked some of their member sites and
they really didn't contain any banner ads.
I'm wondering how they make any profit,
because: 125MB, no ads, unlimited bandwidth
and FTP is really amazing, with or without CGI.
Cracker
December 26th, 2000, 17:51
Hey, Crosswinds got away with offering free unlimited webspace and unlimited bandwidth with FTP and no ads for nearly three years, so I believe that Elite Cities *could* possibly pull this off.
On a side note, Crosswinds has reduced their pop-up size back to the way it was; no more "redneck size" pop-ups that say "Weather Bug" anymore.
LeX
December 29th, 2000, 04:27
I suppose they limit file sizes is to prevent warez sites.
They've got banners? I thought that they claimed there to be none!
chronol
December 29th, 2000, 07:18
Phrozen, can you give us the URL to your page. I really saw no banners or popups in one of the few member sites I saw:
http://www.elitecities.com/dragon
Don't think the file size limit will be a problem for me,
but you are right, they didn't mention that. I haven't read their TOS thoroughly though.
someone else
December 29th, 2000, 07:43
chronol: Note the site you linked to is in a frame, with a small bottom black frame. Check out the source code for the page in that small frame.
It's got an iframe popup code that doesn't seem to work.
And it wasn't put there by the person who created the site...
http://entertainment.elitecities.com/tubeguy
That's another one I found that was hosted there. It's got the same thing.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.