View Full Version : Free webspace for an adult site?
Endzeit
November 3rd, 2000, 08:20
K folks, I am really looking for a good host where I can put up an adult website.
I'll need about 20MB (can be more of course) AND a CGI-BIN I can really use; the server should be quick and allow me access via FTP.
Since my site is going to be free and I will not put any ads on it I am not willing to pay for getting hosted.
Any ideas?
Greetings,
Alex
Gayowulf
November 3rd, 2000, 18:39
Try fsn. the put some pretty large banners up, and if you have large pictures FSN makes them smaller so their banners will fit. FSN offers ftp and pretty well everything else.
[Edited by Peo on 11-03-2000 at 08:02 PM]
Koolguy
November 3rd, 2000, 21:54
internettrash.com
Gayowulf
November 3rd, 2000, 22:39
I Disagree. i think this forum should be used by and for everyone, regardless of their intrests; though this may not be the plase to seek adult free hosts, or to be trolling around.
cds
November 3rd, 2000, 23:22
No, he was serious...internetrash.com is a FWP that accepts any site...hence the somewhat innerving name :)
I dont think koolguy was making fun of what you are doing...he was suggesting a site...
Gayowulf
November 3rd, 2000, 23:29
Sorry fer being ignorant. the combination of the freeserver's name and the signature seemed like it was implying something. the joke's on ME!!
Koolguy
November 4th, 2000, 00:30
No problem everybody is like that at times. Just to clear everything up totally I was referring to that fwp as a possible host because they don't care what you put on your site.
Rodie
November 4th, 2000, 02:01
Originally posted by Gayowulf
Try fsn. the put some pretty large banners up, and if you have large pictures FSN makes them smaller so their banners will fit. FSN offers ftp and pretty well everything else.
[Edited by Peo on 11-03-2000 at 08:02 PM]
FSN.net is a huge scam. Maybe it is better for adult sites, but when I ran my normal site there about 2 years ago, my page would mysteriously disappear and be replaced with some page full of porno ads. It wasn't just my page either. About everybody that used their service experienced this problem. It wasn't a big deal though since all they did was overwrite your index.html file, and all you had to do was re-upload your index.html page. But it wasn't very fun explaining to your visitors why they temporarily got re-directed to a porn site while visiting the website. And this wasn't something that just happened once, but once every 2-3 months.
FSN began to claim these sites were being "hacked"... yea, maybe I would buy that excuse once! But when every single site on their service gets "hacked" every 2-3 months, something fishy is going on. Several people think that the real reason lies with FSN's owner. He's supposively a notorious businessman in the online porn industry who replaces people's sites with links to his pages so he can get more money. And if the sites were indeed being hacked, then it just shows that FSN's security has gapping holes. So either FSN is a huge scam, or a giant hunk of swiss cheese in terms of security. Either way, the FSN customer loses big.
Maybe FSN has changed since, but I've still heard some horror stories. Just thought you'd want to know about their shady past.
Gayowulf
November 4th, 2000, 02:07
All this was true. FSN has majorly revamped but i still would hesitate to put a non adult site there. their huge imagemaps suck.
Endzeit
November 6th, 2000, 05:40
Thanks for all the hints, folks. I'll go and see which host suits me best. ;)
Alex
Mandrake
November 6th, 2000, 09:54
Originally posted by Rodie
Originally posted by Gayowulf
Try fsn. the put some pretty large banners up, and if you have large pictures FSN makes them smaller so their banners will fit. FSN offers ftp and pretty well everything else.
[Edited by Peo on 11-03-2000 at 08:02 PM]
FSN.net is a huge scam. Maybe it is better for adult sites, but when I ran my normal site there about 2 years ago, my page would mysteriously disappear and be replaced with some page full of porno ads. It wasn't just my page either. About everybody that used their service experienced this problem. It wasn't a big deal though since all they did was overwrite your index.html file, and all you had to do was re-upload your index.html page. But it wasn't very fun explaining to your visitors why they temporarily got re-directed to a porn site while visiting the website. And this wasn't something that just happened once, but once every 2-3 months.
FSN began to claim these sites were being "hacked"... yea, maybe I would buy that excuse once! But when every single site on their service gets "hacked" every 2-3 months, something fishy is going on. Several people think that the real reason lies with FSN's owner. He's supposively a notorious businessman in the online porn industry who replaces people's sites with links to his pages so he can get more money. And if the sites were indeed being hacked, then it just shows that FSN's security has gapping holes. So either FSN is a huge scam, or a giant hunk of swiss cheese in terms of security. Either way, the FSN customer loses big.
Maybe FSN has changed since, but I've still heard some horror stories. Just thought you'd want to know about their shady past.
Out of curiosity, do you known the name of the company or person that owns FSN? From what I understand, they're headquartered here in Phoenix and I was wondering if the owners were someone that I may have heard of in the past.
jvv
November 6th, 2000, 13:11
Maybe you can check out sexshare.com too... If it still exists.
Rodie
November 8th, 2000, 01:00
Originally posted by Mandrake
Originally posted by Rodie
Originally posted by Gayowulf
Try fsn. the put some pretty large banners up, and if you have large pictures FSN makes them smaller so their banners will fit. FSN offers ftp and pretty well everything else.
[Edited by Peo on 11-03-2000 at 08:02 PM]
FSN.net is a huge scam. Maybe it is better for adult sites, but when I ran my normal site there about 2 years ago, my page would mysteriously disappear and be replaced with some page full of porno ads. It wasn't just my page either. About everybody that used their service experienced this problem. It wasn't a big deal though since all they did was overwrite your index.html file, and all you had to do was re-upload your index.html page. But it wasn't very fun explaining to your visitors why they temporarily got re-directed to a porn site while visiting the website. And this wasn't something that just happened once, but once every 2-3 months.
FSN began to claim these sites were being "hacked"... yea, maybe I would buy that excuse once! But when every single site on their service gets "hacked" every 2-3 months, something fishy is going on. Several people think that the real reason lies with FSN's owner. He's supposively a notorious businessman in the online porn industry who replaces people's sites with links to his pages so he can get more money. And if the sites were indeed being hacked, then it just shows that FSN's security has gapping holes. So either FSN is a huge scam, or a giant hunk of swiss cheese in terms of security. Either way, the FSN customer loses big.
Maybe FSN has changed since, but I've still heard some horror stories. Just thought you'd want to know about their shady past.
Out of curiosity, do you known the name of the company or person that owns FSN? From what I understand, they're headquartered here in Phoenix and I was wondering if the owners were someone that I may have heard of in the past.
I'm not sure of the name of the owner of FSN. But according to their whois information, they are based in New Orleans...
Free Sites Network (FSN5-DOM)
837 Gravier Street, Suite #703
New Orleans, LA 70112
US
Hopefully somebody else on the board knows the guy's name.
Semiel
November 8th, 2000, 08:38
Out of InternetTash's TOS:
"No Adult content of any kind is permitted at InternetTrash"
Mandrake
November 8th, 2000, 10:30
Out of curiosity, do you known the name of the company or person that owns FSN? From what I understand, they're headquartered here in Phoenix and I was wondering if the owners were someone that I may have heard of in the past.
I'm not sure of the name of the owner of FSN. But according to their whois information, they are based in New Orleans...
Free Sites Network (FSN5-DOM)
837 Gravier Street, Suite #703
New Orleans, LA 70112
US
Hopefully somebody else on the board knows the guy's name.
Hmm... Interesting... When I looked them over, their site indicated they were based here in Phoenix. Maybe they've moved since then... That was early this year.
robin
November 8th, 2000, 13:26
Originally posted by Semiel
Out of InternetTash's TOS:
"No Adult content of any kind is permitted at InternetTrash"
try internetdump.com... i think they do adult stuff.
NC_TOM
November 8th, 2000, 14:56
Originally posted by Semiel
Out of InternetTash's TOS:
"No Adult content of any kind is permitted at InternetTrash"
They moved their adult hosting to http://www.internetdump.com last year from what I heard awhile back.
NC_TOM
November 8th, 2000, 14:58
Sorry I didn't see your post there. How's it going anyways? Have any new FWPs that you've found lately?
nickline
August 13th, 2001, 13:13
Boy! This thread is old! :D
meow
August 13th, 2001, 14:31
Hey! Stop doing that. It f*cks the whole forum up. :fork:
Bruce
August 13th, 2001, 14:36
I have to agree with the furball on this one.
meow
August 13th, 2001, 17:17
Watch it, blueface. :mad:
:D
nickline
August 13th, 2001, 20:33
Sweet Memories, isn't it? :D
I won't do it again. :D :D
Bruce
August 13th, 2001, 20:35
Originally posted by meow
Watch it, blueface. :mad:
:D
Oh I am terribly sorry meow. I don't know what I could've been thinking. :rolleyes:
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.