PDA

View Full Version : Acer Laptop £290?



matty005
November 4th, 2006, 19:18
http://eshop-uk.net/product_info.php?cPath=33&products_id=71&osCsid=8ad29ff2247ebac0d954ee286363a126

I was just wondering, this price seems too good to be true, so has anyone else ever bought a laptop from eshop-uk.net?

Also, it says the laptop has 1gb ram and 100gb harddrive, but everywhere else on the internet, it says 512mb and 60gb harddrive for the same laptop.

Thanks.

Abush
November 4th, 2006, 20:45
I woudn't buy anything from that site. It looks shady to me.

themoose
November 5th, 2006, 17:06
Yeah.. no certificate of approval or anything.

Matt8
November 6th, 2006, 10:48
"If it seems to good to be true, it probably is"

Note the title says an Intel Pentium 380 - that doesn't exist. If you read the description, it points out it is a CELERON 380, which would be correct. Looks too unprofessional for me to trust.

Hecky
November 14th, 2006, 14:22
Yeah, I agree with all of the above, plus it seems very new, perhaps off a template

"Put here your Resellers information."

Maybe they are still in the process of developing the site, and those products are just templates of what to put?

Decker
November 14th, 2006, 15:37
eshop-UK.net 'Find us in the UK @' 29-1 Fernwood st. Hamburg, Germany,07837
Looks like a hacked OSCommerce with copyright removed

Johnson
November 14th, 2006, 17:28
http://tsr.greatdb.com/www.eshop-uk.net

Site is 21 days old. Don't do it.

Derbym
November 15th, 2006, 10:11
The website domain is owned by a perosn who lives in Wolverhampton, a residential address in a nice area, good value. The telephone number on the actual site is a non-geograpraphical number, could be anywhere in the world. I have sent two emails and had no rsponse for 24 hours, not conclusive I know. I also bought something and then tried to log back in and it will not recognise the data. I also asked Paypal if they know about the site using their logo yet not offering the services and questioned Sony to see if they know they have official representation through the site as it declares.

Its all very fishy and not professional but...
if I get offered my item then I will see how I can pay, if the item is in the UK then I will collect it and pay cash if an option. It is a real bargain if its true.

You never know and, after all, we know where they live.

krakjoe
November 15th, 2006, 14:08
thier age is the biggest clue, and a business address in a nice area could just mean they have used a stolen credit card to buy the domain or whatever ...

matty005
November 18th, 2006, 17:35
I bought the laptop, since i can afford it, and i still havent received a laptop.

They have been messing me about with the money and now they say they are going to pay me back on tuesday, and if they dont, i will be getting the police/trading people involved.

Decker
November 18th, 2006, 18:11
Don't wait till Tuesday, did they give an invoice, an order number, also blacklisted @ http://tsr.greatdb.com/index.php

matty005
November 19th, 2006, 06:25
wierd, major websites are shown as blacklisted on that whois site.

http://tsr.greatdb.com/www.bbc.co.uk - Blacklisted: Yes
http://tsr.greatdb.com/www.google.co.uk - Blacklisted: Yes

themoose
November 19th, 2006, 10:34
...
...


WHAT IS IT WITH PEOPLE TODAY?!

After everybody said it's a scam, don't do it, you then went ahead and did it anyway and now you're surprised you havn't got your laptop and your money is nowhere to be seen?!

Jheez. Sometimes I think people deserve to be stolen from.

Decker
November 19th, 2006, 14:59
I wonder if that fire burns? OW!
I wonder if that fire burns? OW!
I wonder if that fire burns? OW!
I wonder if that fire burns? OW!......

Can't tell some

Hecky
November 19th, 2006, 15:27
...
...


WHAT IS IT WITH PEOPLE TODAY?!

After everybody said it's a scam, don't do it, you then went ahead and did it anyway and now you're surprised you havn't got your laptop and your money is nowhere to be seen?!

Jheez. Sometimes I think people deserve to be stolen from.

Yeah, shouldn't have done that really. Dosent take a Yoda to predict that

matty005
November 26th, 2006, 12:27
well i contacted the hosting company who sold the domain to them - no reply. Their nameservers dont point to an actual website for their host.

Their name is "crissy white" and it tells u their address on whois - how stupid!

Look on the reviews on the right - each review says their item didnt come. Which means i am not the only one to buy one, about 10 other people, so quit calling me stupid as its easy to fall for a scam like this.

Anyway, im going to call the police tomorrow on that crimestoppers number.