View Full Version : WTF? Cyberwings!
Ashed
March 19th, 2002, 10:11
OK, I'm in no way related to Cyberwings. I don't even have an account with them, I just signed up on their forums. :p
Anyway, I just got this e-mail...
Cyberwings does it again..... 50% off at Cyberwings - 200 Accounts ONLY!
Cyberwings is slashing their hosting prices AGAIN by ANOTHER 50% on ALL PLANS! This offer is ONLY GOOD for the next 200
accounts sold and these accounts are predicted to be sold within the next 8 hours - before 2:00pm EST on 3/19/02.
Hosting Plan 1 - $2.10 per year, year after year, on this special!
IF YOU PAY VIA PAYPAL to sales@cyberwings.com you will receive a special bonus!
http://www.cyberwings.com/hosting/
Let's get these new data center servers filled before we crank our bandwidth pipes wide open and show this hosting industry
what we can REALLY do :-)
Some people think I've finally gone off the deep end with this Sale :-) ACT FAST!
Cyberwings Price Slasher
How can they afford to make money? :eek:
ducktape
March 19th, 2002, 14:53
got the same thing and asked the same question!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Have they lost their mind????
vik13
March 19th, 2002, 19:34
w00t! is this for real! i just signed up for an account.
Giancarlo
March 19th, 2002, 19:38
So have they filed for bankruptcy yet?
roly
March 19th, 2002, 19:40
They'll probably die
Also they don't even have a SMTP server:mad:
Synergy
March 19th, 2002, 21:25
Maybe they are planning to take some losses and build a high Client DB for branding.
PyschoPath
March 19th, 2002, 22:10
Don't badmouth people guys Admin Edit: Last part removed. Listen to your own advice.
Bruce
March 19th, 2002, 22:19
Hmm... they're based in Maine. I should really go bug them.
Anyway, even though they're getting their data-transfer for around 25¢ per gig they'd have to put at least 1000 clients on a server. Something just doesn't seem realistic here...
ducktape
March 19th, 2002, 23:08
they are attempting business suicide
Mika
March 20th, 2002, 04:40
Maybe they just want to sell, to get some money soon to pay their bills! Although they're trying this in the wrong way. Seems not to have a good business plan.
Ashed
March 20th, 2002, 04:50
Looks like the special offer has ended. :(
I was planning to sign up for an account since it's so cheap.
It's cheap the way it is, anyway. I think I'm going to try out the $6.00 plan. :D
Hoth
March 20th, 2002, 21:12
They probably hope to get a bunch of people to say "wow, this is cheap!" and just sign up without having the ability to use all the space or bandwidth. I suppose if only 1 out of every 5 or 10 people actually uses the full amount they're alloted, and many people are paying $5 for a site that gets 10 hits a month, they could be making a profit.
ducktape
March 21st, 2002, 18:02
and what about the sites that use alot of resources that is only paying $5.00. I seen somewhere that they only pay $.25USD (tenty five cents per gb of bandwith which i think is bs and if they give you 10 a month for 12 months thats $30 for bandwith plus elcetric, servers, rent, other parts like racks, cat 5 other stuff they will be losing their a$$e$.
Ashed
March 21st, 2002, 23:26
Well, they have been in the business for nearly a year now and Shawn said they are financially stable. :eek: :p
Choppy
March 22nd, 2002, 09:37
Its funny how a company that has been operating for more than a year offer something like this!
We ourselves offer some excellent LOW end Hosting solutions but this is plain impossible...
The lack of smtp server is a smart idea to lower costs by a big % believe it or not.. and what they pay for bandwidth could be different... Maybe they are hosted in Australia, were Outbound data is not measured at all!
Hmm does anyone that has bought that plan have any info like are you on a cobalt raq or something?
I knew a company before it shut down it was offering amzing prices for there service by having 400 of these sites per server! IF you do the maths right they would still be doing good in the profit area of the business...
Good luck to them anyway i have heard many good things about them and since we use to do more business hosting we never saw them as serious competition.. but now that we are aiming our new servers/department at high quality affordable hosting i must admin they are giving us a run for our money...
Just my opinion...
and cyberwings if you ready to sell the company, PM me!
MN-Carl
March 22nd, 2002, 14:43
They have their own data-center :)
ducktape
March 22nd, 2002, 15:01
For the second time in a row.... within 1 week.... Cyberwings does it again..... 50% off at Cyberwings - LIMITED TIME ONLY!
YOU ARE NOT SEEING DOUBLE!
YES, we did run this sale a few days ago, but we decided to run it one more time to give people who didn't signup the chance to
signup during our sale - tell your friends, tell your colleagues, tell the whole world about this sale, it won't be back again
for quite a while!
Cyberwings is slashing their hosting prices AGAIN by ANOTHER 50% on ALL PLANS! This offer is ONLY GOOD for a short time!
NOTE: PayPal payments are HIGHLY preferred! Our PayPal Address is sales@cyberwings.com! PayPal payments will receive an
extra 20% of Space or Bandwidth, YOUR CHOICE! Free! We will ask you which you prefer after your account is setup!
http://www.cyberwings.com/hosting/
BANDWIDTH AT OUR DATA CENTER WILL BE *DOUBLED* THIS WEEKEND, and then DOUBLED periodically thereafter! New servers are coming
online, new accounts, new everything at Cyberwings!
Some people think I've finally gone off the deep end with this Sale :-) ACT FAST!
NOTE: We MAY need a bit more than 3 days to setup all of these accounts, we're shooting to add 2,000 accounts in 2 weeks, and
we're over 30% of the way there - we are bringing on extra staff to help with the load. Please bare with us. We are a widely
known and very reputable company, bringing you the LOWEST cost hosting in the industry. Just remember how much money you will
be saving with Cyberwings while waiting for your welcome email - our servers & services are TOP quality.
Onward & Upward, hope to see you on board! Spread the word to your friends, SHARE the gift of Cyberwings!
Cyberwings Price Slasher
they are at it again. Yeah they claim to be building their own datacenter. Maybe Bruce can find out and report back to us. They are both from Maine....hehehehe.....:D
Giancarlo
March 22nd, 2002, 15:10
If they are lieing they could be sued for improper advertisement.
WarMachine
March 23rd, 2002, 07:52
Originally posted by Choppy
The lack of smtp server is a smart idea to lower costs by a big % believe it or not.. and what they pay for bandwidth could be different... Maybe they are hosted in Australia, were Outbound data is not measured at all!
1. They do provide SMTP server to clients.
2. They are hosted in the US -- their own data center in Maine.
Bruce
March 23rd, 2002, 09:20
Originally posted by WarMachine
1. They do provide SMTP server to clients.
Actually they no longer do. They tell people to use the one provided by their ISP.
WarMachine
March 23rd, 2002, 22:30
Originally posted by Bruce
Actually they no longer do. They tell people to use the one provided by their ISP.
They are doing it right now. They are providing SMTP server for all the accounts currently being signed up (for their new data-center).
Warp
March 23rd, 2002, 23:47
Originally posted by Choppy
Maybe they are hosted in Australia, were Outbound data is not measured at all!
If that was the case mate, why does Telstra charge for outbound data on their adsl/cable accounts?
Webdude
March 24th, 2002, 00:53
Originally posted by cdudeuk18
They have their own data-center :)
Really? They own Verio? That's who I am tracking to..
No biggie, you can have a few computers in a beat up old garage and call it a datacenter...which is what it would be, though I think Verio is a much better place to be..LOL
The tracking doesnt mean they are IN Verio, just means that is where they track to. They could have all their stuff nearby with a connection into Verio..
Warp
March 24th, 2002, 01:04
Webdude, LightShip Telecom (http://www.lightship.net/) is Cyberwings bandwidth provider.
I am not sure where you got Verio from...
Trace for Cyberwings (http://www.telstra.net/cgi-bin/trace?cyberwings.com)
What SamSpade found (http://samspade.org/t/lookat?a=cyberwings.com)
Webdude
March 24th, 2002, 01:32
One of their nameservers is host207.com, which the IP resolves to Everyone's Internet (http://www.ev1.net) here in Houston who is connected to Verio. Ev1 also owns RackShack, which partly uses Cogent bandwidth....which is why Cyberwings can do the bandwidth so cheap..
ducktape
March 24th, 2002, 01:33
you go webdude!!!lol....:D
Warp
March 24th, 2002, 01:44
Originally posted by Webdude
One of their nameservers is host207.com, which the IP resolves to Everyone's Internet (http://www.ev1.net) here in Houston who is connected to Verio. Ev1 also owns RackShack, which partly uses Cogent bandwidth....which is why Cyberwings can do the bandwidth so cheap..
Yes... correct, Cyberwings originally was based @ Rackshack. They have grown and that is why they are building their OWN data centre :)
They still have the servers @ rackshack, except all new ones (such as the "plesk 5" machine which is @ the new data centre).
From my understanding they will migrate people from the Rackshack servers to the Cyberwings Data Centre over the next 12 months ...
have a look @ the data centre website:
http://www.cyberwingsdc.com/
Ashed
March 24th, 2002, 10:41
Well, I just signed up with them for the $3.00 plan (after the 50% discount). :D
The prices can't get any cheaper than this! :eek:
Webdude
March 24th, 2002, 19:30
I dont want anyone to think I was knocking them, they seem a good company. I was just questioning some information...not questioning quality..
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.