PDA

View Full Version : Spam...but not spam in a sense.



GZSO
May 16th, 2007, 21:41
Alright well some of my sites have been targets of spam attacks.

Two of the two that I work on. But it's a spam message that isn't what people consider spam.

Most webmasters consider spam:
1. Continuous posts/comments that are useless. (More than 5-10)
2. With a link to a site of some sort.

But the sites that I have that got 'spammed' is from ONE user.
The IP is from a proxy, so I can't trace it.

Why do i say it's not spam in a sense?
There was only one post from the user who posted it.
It had no links to anywhere. It was a compliment post more of.

What baffled me is that it was posted on a site that I didn't even know people knew of. It could have been confused with halo3.com, as it's a halo 3 site. But I just bought the domain and done nothing with it since last November.

One user posted under the username of uropian.
The post is:

Nor can Mehtap! I want to say that your site better throughout the World Wide Web :-)
Thank you. Keep it.

With the smiley face included.

If you do a google search of this phrase

Nor can Mehtap" "I want to say that your site better throughout the World Wide Web
you get about 90,000 results.

I saw a site that had some of these posts. uropian is an anagram for our pain.
Methap is an anagram for the map.

I wonder if anyone knows what this is, or anything about it. Because on my forum, that user took the time to REGISTER an account, VALIDATE their account by clicking an email link, and then posted it.
And it's not detrimental in any way. No links to anything. Simply that message and it has me baffled at this.

I'm just curious about this.
Sorry if it's been talked about already, but it seems pretty recent to me.

Ben
May 16th, 2007, 21:48
Kind of creepy in a way. I've honestly never seen it before this.

:confused2

GZSO
May 16th, 2007, 21:50
Yeah it kinda creeped me out too.
I would have just preferred links to ------ or something >_>
EDIT: NOT THAT I USE IT OR ANYTHING.

stuffradio
May 16th, 2007, 23:20
rofl, no clue...

Matt8
May 16th, 2007, 23:55
Thats new to me, I don't even know what to make of it...

GZSO
May 17th, 2007, 00:06
Yeah when I saw it i thought it was someone who just randomly found my site and liked it.
But yesterday it appeared on my other site, and then i was like hm wtf? and googled it. >< so weird.

goblin77
May 17th, 2007, 03:39
I haven't seen it before.

themoose
May 17th, 2007, 04:14
Yeah it kinda creeped me out too.
I would have just preferred links to ------ or something >_>
EDIT: NOT THAT I USE IT OR ANYTHING.

ROFL @ the edit.

krakjoe
May 17th, 2007, 05:16
It happens all the time, it could be as simple as someone with very little english congratulating you on your site, if you can see what country they are from then ban it if you don't want people from that country to visit and post nonsense.

Tatzel
May 17th, 2007, 11:54
Some of those seemingly innocuous one-post-wonders or the profiles of their authors are later used to be edited to more "conventionnal" spammy content.

iBrightDev
May 17th, 2007, 11:57
i have gotten a few of these too. lol. i even got a couple from my own contact form on my site. :S

GZSO
May 18th, 2007, 01:14
ROFL @ the edit.

heh well I kinda pressed reply and i was like wait that doesnt sound right :angel:

And for one of my sites the uropian user posts once with that message, and then a few days later from a different IP address contains links.
But on some other sites of mine, it's just one post usernames.

Very odd..

Zeppelin
May 18th, 2007, 07:14
It happens all the time, it could be as simple as someone with very little english congratulating you on your site, if you can see what country they are from then ban it if you don't want people from that country to visit and post nonsense.

Doesn't sound logical, IMO. Why should someone with very liitle english congratulate the OP on the site under development?

Kwek
May 18th, 2007, 07:57
I would prefer to think of it as spam. Especially since you could find so many results and it appeared on more than one site.

TSO
May 18th, 2007, 08:27
Alright well some of my sites have been targets of spam attacks.

Two of the two that I work on. But it's a spam message that isn't what people consider spam.

Most webmasters consider spam:
1. Continuous posts/comments that are useless. (More than 5-10)
2. With a link to a site of some sort.

But the sites that I have that got 'spammed' is from ONE user.
The IP is from a proxy, so I can't trace it.

Why do i say it's not spam in a sense?
There was only one post from the user who posted it.
It had no links to anywhere. It was a compliment post more of.

What baffled me is that it was posted on a site that I didn't even know people knew of. It could have been confused with halo3.com, as it's a halo 3 site. But I just bought the domain and done nothing with it since last November.

One user posted under the username of uropian.
The post is:


With the smiley face included.

If you do a google search of this phrase

you get about 90,000 results.

I saw a site that had some of these posts. uropian is an anagram for our pain.
Methap is an anagram for the map.

I wonder if anyone knows what this is, or anything about it. Because on my forum, that user took the time to REGISTER an account, VALIDATE their account by clicking an email link, and then posted it.
And it's not detrimental in any way. No links to anything. Simply that message and it has me baffled at this.

I'm just curious about this.
Sorry if it's been talked about already, but it seems pretty recent to me.

Did he/she leave a signature? Perhaps it's just link building?

fireshark
May 18th, 2007, 19:47
I think OP said there were no links or anything of the sort...
Wow, that is weird spam...

Kwek
May 18th, 2007, 20:48
I think OP said there were no links or anything of the sort...
Wow, that is weird spam...
Maybe that spammer is weird. :P

GZSO
May 21st, 2007, 23:31
Maybe that spammer is weird. :P
What if it's more than one spammer :O

@The Stealthy One: No signature of any sorts, nor avatar.

Galaxy-Hosts.com
May 22nd, 2007, 00:47
I would guess someone is making accounts for a bot, then the bot will start dropping links when they are ready.

GZSO
May 29th, 2007, 00:03
But does that mean one person is making like thousands of accounts?

Tatzel
June 4th, 2007, 12:17
But does that mean one person is making like thousands of accounts?

Yep there are usernames not very likely to have been independently made up and used by thousands of different actual people that ARE registered at thousands of forums.

I've already seen some people set up trap phpbb register pages unused by any actual humans but that instead of encrypting it all away gave them usernames and passwords already registered by bots with exact same details at hundreds of places.

GZSO
June 12th, 2007, 20:58
I dont like bumping an old topic
But that user stopped by and viisted again.

This time it posted :

Dear forum users, I need your help, please. I get a task to write a publication. The topic of my publication is "Ten the most interesting things that you can get free".

On all websites where I can find references on free stuff practically the same offers - t-shirts, free product samples, CD, DVD and other usual things. But it is not interesting to read about this.

May be, somebody has met something unusual that you would get free?
For example something such as this free stuff or as this freebie.

If it is not very complicated send me please references.
My email is uropian@gmail.com. All people who can help me I certainly
thank in my article.

An email link was included, and now two links to a site like freestuffer.net or something was posted.
It wasnt a bad site either ..