View Full Version : Heard of new linux laptops?
littlefranciscan
August 11th, 2007, 14:07
I have heard there is a new inexpensive laptop coming out that will cost $150 usd ..have you heard this ..what are your thoughts?
Robert
August 11th, 2007, 14:29
Aren't those laptops for the children in Africa?
serverorigin
August 11th, 2007, 14:38
Nah that's the $100 dollar laptop:
http://laptop.media.mit.edu/
Robert
August 11th, 2007, 14:51
Ohh. Something different.
krakjoe
August 11th, 2007, 18:04
I heard of http://crave.cnet.co.uk/laptops/0,39029450,49291655,00.htm which have some hardware based on the olpc laptops, but they aren't $150, they over $400
sep
August 11th, 2007, 19:44
http://www.medisoncelebrity.com/product.html
Some people are saying it's some sort of a scam.
However the payments are processed by 2CO and they have aparently promisied that no money will be withdrawn from customers accounts untill the actuall shipping is made. They're due to be shipped on August 15th.
On a personal note, I reckon the laptop would be bearable if some RAM was added to it, but that would probably void the waranty (if any). Since with more RAM it will beat my PPC latop, I might consider getting one a reliable source has confirmed legitimacy.
krakjoe
August 11th, 2007, 19:52
bloody hell, how are they managing that, I wanna buy one just to see if it's real ....
EDIT : http://www.medisoncelebrity.com/accessories.html that's strange ....
sep
August 11th, 2007, 20:02
This is how, I guess:
http://www.medisoncelebrity.com/adsfacts.html
Top program: U$ 2 million
They're hoping to get the loss in the laptops back from adverts due to the publicity they're having for the price or other similar scheme.
krakjoe
August 11th, 2007, 20:11
It seems odd to me, none of the ads on that page even link to another page, plus on the front page it says "Pricing, specifications, availability and terms of offers may change without notice.", which is basically a get out clause ......
Plus I just found out the owner of the company is a little dilluded ....
http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:v38cEH9PR5IJ:www.engadget.com/tag/medison%2520celebrity/+Medison+Celebrity&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=18&gl=uk&client=firefox-a
[ih]Demetris
August 12th, 2007, 01:21
I personally havent heard to much on these guys but its a interesting concept for sure..it will be interesting t see how it turns out
Cam.
August 12th, 2007, 02:00
I might actually order one of those...
EDIT: Mabye Not, Look at the whois:
Domain name: medisoncelebrity.com
Registrant Contact:
Valdi Ivancic (valdi_ivancic@hotmail.com)
+46.707572858
Fax:
Lundenvagen 24
Huskvarna, 561 34
SE
How professional... And then they are hosted on a $3.99 hosting plan, No thanks :D
EDIT 2: It is looking so much like a scam
1. The laptop pictured is one from another company
2. All of the partnership agreements don't exist, They are fake contacts
3. Free shipping anywhere in the world? Yeah right
4. Shipping and handling is taken care of by our partner ___________ with its network reaching out over several continents. Hmm, Does that sound bad to you?
5. In early pics of the laptop, It had XP Home in the pic.
6. The company behind it went bankrupt in Sweden and then moved to UK.
And that is just a few of them!
Robert
August 12th, 2007, 10:49
Not as cheap as those, but Dell's Open Source Laptops/Desktops are pretty cheap:
http://www.dell.com/content/topics/segtopic.aspx/ubuntu?c=us&cs=19&l=en&s=dhs&~ck=anavml
krakjoe
August 12th, 2007, 11:07
Wow, that is cheap, and real too ....
utcrazy
August 12th, 2007, 15:29
I'm going to wait and see how this pans out before buying one...
krakjoe
August 12th, 2007, 16:17
Realistically, I don't think it can actually work - it this were a viable business idea, then don't ya think a company like Dell ( who have vast experience with marketing on the internet ), or Overclockers, or HP, or someone would have done it a few years ago ...... it's not like linux is new, it's not like you couldn't get full GUI Desktops from vmlinuz years and years ago .....
When you look at the site and do some quick googling you pretty soon get the idea that this is another internet marketing scam ...... I don't see how a marketing campaign that doesn't actually make any external links to the advertised sites can generate any revenue at all, nevermind 2 million dollars ......
Cam.
August 12th, 2007, 17:21
Internet scam? Probably is. Lets see how this works out :D
LSComputers
August 12th, 2007, 23:10
considering it takes up to 3-6 months to deliver, id stay away.
Cam.
August 12th, 2007, 23:52
Yep, It all sounds fishy.
[ih]Demetris
August 13th, 2007, 01:11
Yes it does sound a bit dodgy but the only thing that would even make me consider buying one is the fact that they use 2checkout as their processor. These guys have a pretty fine rep of handling customer complaints and disputes in a timely and professional manner.
Cam.
August 13th, 2007, 01:19
Yeah, And 2Co have said that once you have confirmed that you have the laptop and there is no problem, They then give the company the money.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.