PDA

View Full Version : Is this real ?



3min3m
November 3rd, 2007, 17:53
http://www.lypha.com/

Do you see what I see ?:ninja:

[DWH]Yuxuan
November 3rd, 2007, 21:00
Ya, it's real, but I don't know if it's overselling or not. (Although my guess is yes, they are overselling)

Skylar
November 3rd, 2007, 22:07
Overselling by a LOT they are probobly on a VPS at the most.

GeekRack
November 3rd, 2007, 22:22
Yes, they definitely oversell however thats more of a marketing vs scam debate. Lypha is a well known host dont think they are on a VPS by anymeans i know they do colocate most of their boxes in the SoftLayer DC

A.J. Angel
November 3rd, 2007, 22:46
I see a cute blue-eyed blonde smiling back at me.

DavidsAwesome
November 3rd, 2007, 22:59
Looks like they took a picture of a Barbie and put it on their main page.

PS.... it takes a lot to use 1TB of bandwidth without doing something against any host's TOS.

serverorigin
November 5th, 2007, 18:20
that picture is nasty lol

TSO
November 5th, 2007, 20:05
Lypha doesn't operate using VPSes! :) They are a fair-sized Web host - probably in the top 200, in terms of number of users.

Fahrenheit
November 6th, 2007, 05:47
I wonder which hardware do they use?:confused4

RavenServers
November 6th, 2007, 10:05
that picture is nasty lol

I have to agree there, lol! ;)

iBrightDev
November 6th, 2007, 10:32
i dont see why any legal site would need that much space. and the free domain for life? how the heck would that host ever make money selling packages that large for so cheap? i could see if they have a deal with icann, and make money on the hosting since domains would be really cheap for them that way, but, they would need a lot of customers to pay for a server that large and make a profit. i would say that is a really stupid offer, but hey, that is just my opinion.

Darknight
November 6th, 2007, 11:52
They are a large company making lots of money, so It must work.. As geekrack said Its all just another marketing vs scam debate, Iv said my current views on overselling in many threads so Ill only give a quick insight to my views, Its fine to do if you can manage it, If someone dont read a TOS correctly that isnt the hosts fult.
I do think this offer is slightly over the top though...
The domain can be explained easy, Its only for the life of your hosting plan, And you would have to pay yearly or 2 yearly to recive it.. If you remove the hosting package they wont re register your domain anymore.. So its only 1 months woth of hosting payments per year..
These types of packages are good for the newbies that just want a faimly site to share some photos with ect (And most of the clients they have would be like that) they are not a good place to be hosting things like FWS as we all know...

GeekRack
November 6th, 2007, 12:25
You know you took the words right out of my mouth +1 for you mate couldnt have said it better.

Cam.
November 6th, 2007, 21:22
On that pic, The eyes are fake and the rest is something you would expect to be a plastic doll that turns evil or something :D

goblin77
November 7th, 2007, 08:40
On that pic, The eyes are fake and the rest is something you would expect to be a plastic doll that turns evil or something :D
Looks like that.

[DWH]Yuxuan
November 10th, 2007, 23:14
O man, that picture gives me nightmares..