PDA

View Full Version : Register Internet LP



Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 00:45
So I had a few domains registered with Register.com

Few minutes ago I open one of the sites I've built on one of those domains, only to find a generic domain landing page with ladies in bikinies.
Scratching my head I check if it still points to my server, and it does not.
Checked whois, and whois said nameservers are different then mines. But the real problem is I'm not the owner anymore!

Logged in to my register.com account and Bam! what a surprise, "No domains or services available." 0 domains...

Whois says this is the new owner:

Register Internet LP
Register Internet LP
Avenida do Infante 50
Funchal, Madeira 9004-521
PT
Email: admin@rangermadeira.com

So yea, tried to open an abuse ticket with register.com but their system was saying I was already registered or something whatever and didnt want to send my question. So I opened a chat session and the person forwarded the issue to some department.

I got ZERO emails asking me to confirm a domain transfer or something so I'm scratching my head wondering how this could of happen.
It's either a) someone got into my account or b) register.com internal screwup

The first option doesn't make sense because as I said I got no domain transfer emails. And even IF someone changed my email so I wouldnt get those, I think it would still send me out an email saying my email got changed.
Second option doesn't make sense either.

I'm clueless :confused4

hari123
November 8th, 2007, 01:38
My Domains also stolen, almost 24 domains
any help for get back my domains.

:wave:

Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 01:50
Register.com as well?

What does your whois say now?

hari123
November 8th, 2007, 02:03
Same as u got

Jan
November 8th, 2007, 04:10
Is that the only domain you had there Wojtek?

Darknight
November 8th, 2007, 05:01
WTF, you ended up signing up for 24 free domains? No wonder they took them off you.
Woj was yours the free offer and did you register more than one (If it was the free offer)?

Meksilon
November 8th, 2007, 07:02
I noticed with my register.com free domains they company's details into the "Technical Contact" field - I was like "wtf?" and promptly removed it and put in mine.

Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 09:48
Jan, no. I had other domains besides one of the ones in my signature.
internalx, yes, it was from the free offer.

And I don't think the domains got revoked by register.com
1) The new registrant is NOT register.com
2) New registrant is based of some tiny spanish island on the coast of europe
3) Nowhere did it explicitly say 1 domains only. The condition was it was going to be used for business.
4) This guy's (http://freewebspace.net/forums/showpost.php?p=929107&postcount=1) domains are also all from register.com, registered during the promotion (for free I assume), all 70+ of them, and he's still the owner.

Meksilon, what did you see in your domain's technical details? Register.com or the one I posted in my original post.

hari123
November 8th, 2007, 10:43
Wojtek any help from Register.com ??

Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 10:53
Not yet. I contacted them at 1am so I don't think they had time to process it yet.
The person on the chat double checked with me my email and phone number, so they'll contact me when they have something.

Did you contact them about your account?

hari123
November 8th, 2007, 10:55
Not yet. still im waiting for reply.

Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 11:22
I'd suggest you do so. The sooner the better.

hari123
November 8th, 2007, 12:31
Register.com's Live Support response

Rebecca C.:Thank you for visiting Register.com's Live Support. How can I help you?
You: Hello
You: Register Internet LP stolen my domains!
Rebecca C.: How can I help you?
You: Register Internet LP stolen my domains!

Rebecca C.: I am sorry, if that is the case. What can I help you with?
You: how can i get back my domains
Rebecca C.: What are one of the domain names in question?
You: in2career.com
Rebecca C.: Thank you.
You: Register Internet LP is using register.com account
Rebecca C.: What was your favorite place to visit as a child?
You: Hyderabad
Rebecca C.: That is not the answer I have.
Rebecca C.: I have sent you a 8 digit security code to the registrant email address and if you can tell me the 8 digits back that is confirmation to the account.
You: wait
You: 08947429
Rebecca C.: Thank you.
Rebecca C.: So was you trying to do a transfer or something?
You: no
Rebecca C.: One moment while I look into this for you.
You: ok
Rebecca C.: Just going to be another moment.
You: ok
Rebecca C.: The domain was flagged by our security team because the account was not created properly or the offer guidelines not followed.
You: ok
Rebecca C.: Is there anything else I can help you with?
You: then how can get back that domain
Rebecca C.: You will need to pay for it.
You: who is Register Internet LP
Rebecca C.: We would be able to get the domain names back for you.
You: yaa i want
Rebecca C.: All of the domain names?
You: yaa i want
Rebecca C.: Okay. One moment.
You: ok
Rebecca C.: Well I can get your credit card information again and we would set you up into a new account and then it would take me a while to get them back. Are you looking to register them all for 1 year?
You: its free or
Rebecca C.: No. You will have to pay.
You: but my credit card balance nill now
Rebecca C.: nill?
You: - balance now
Rebecca C.: So when you have a balance, let us know and we would try to get the name for you.
You: ok
Rebecca C.: Anything else.
You: i want to know who is Register Internet LP
You: Registrant:
Register Internet LP
Register Internet LP
Avenida do Infante 50
Funchal, Madeira 9004-521
PT
Rebecca C.: It is a third party with Register.com
You: means ?
Rebecca C.: It is like a partner with register.com. When you are ready to get the domain names back, let us know.
Rebecca C.: Anything else I can help you with?
You: nothing
Rebecca C.: Thank you for visiting Register.com - Don't just make a website - Make an Impact!
***** Rebecca C. Has Disconnected

Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 13:37
You weren't very diplomatic in that chat conversation :p

At least she told you who Register Internet LP are.
However she could of given more into into the "the account was not created properly or the offer guidelines not followed"

I still have not received anything on my end.

hari123
November 8th, 2007, 13:42
they r fraud.

Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 13:48
Bruce Johnson: Thank you for visiting Register.com's Live Support. How can I help you?
Wojtek: Hello Bruce
Bruce Johnson: Hello Wojciech.
Bruce Johnson: May I have the domain name you are contacting us about today?
Wojtek: I've contacted your support department yesterday about some missing domains into my account. I was told the issue would be send to the correct department and they'll contact me. However I have still not heard back from them. Would you be able to give me an update on that ticket please.
Bruce Johnson: Sure.
Bruce Johnson: I see that our appropriate department is already working on your issue and will surely get back to you in this as soon as possible.
Bruce Johnson: I apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Bruce Johnson: Please be assured that you will be soon contacted in this regard.
Wojtek: Very well. Thank you Bruce. I appreciate it.


Well at least they're "working on it". I'm wondering if they'll give me the same answer as you got.

hari123
November 8th, 2007, 13:53
i got same message first.

Please be assured that you will be soon contacted in this regard.

Darknight
November 8th, 2007, 15:09
Thing is I understand why haris where removed, He abused the service signing up for more than one, It was one free domain per small company, thats there terms.. I dont know why they removed yours though since you Other people that signed up have still got there domains.
Good luck getting it back Wojtek, Im guessing they got some bad info from your account or something

Wojtek
November 8th, 2007, 15:37
Still nothing.
I'll give them until tomorrow and then move on. Oh well, it was free. Can't complain :p

Meksilon
November 8th, 2007, 18:00
You weren't very diplomatic in that chat conversation :pYeah, um... hari123, how old are you? I'm guessing not old enough to have qualified for the offer in the first place.
Meksilon, what did you see in your domain's technical details? Register.com or the one I posted in my original post.No, it was register.com's details! Their email, their addressw, their phone - I believe that was a huge security flaw!

Irving
December 12th, 2007, 16:41
Really simple.
REGISTER.COM REALLY SUCKS!!
I have the same problem

TSO
December 12th, 2007, 18:41
It is because you guys setup each domain in the same account, email address, or IP address. You should be sneaky about it - use a proxy, and different info for each domain. ;)

Jordan Mclay
December 13th, 2007, 19:50
Or obey theyre rules ?