View Full Version : 1and1.com
dogma
November 25th, 2007, 07:57
Does anyone know if individuals living in the UK can purchase TLDs from 1and1.com?
As TLDs (.COM, .INFO, etc) are relatively cheaper on 1and1.com compared to 1and1.co.uk. Especially with the current exchange rate.
ProficientTech
November 25th, 2007, 08:47
I don't see why not, did you try it?
TSO
November 25th, 2007, 08:53
Yes, I am sure you could, as long as you have a credit card accepted by the 1and1.com site.
dogma
November 25th, 2007, 09:14
Thanks. I'm intending to pay via PayPal.
Just found the following on their site: website (http://order.1and1.com/xml/order/WebHostingInternational;jsessionid=49F64B8722DE26B6D17617422 66D9271.TC61b?__frame=_top&__lf=Static):
Residents of the UK, France, Germany, Austria, and Spain are requested to order at the 1&1 website that corresponds with their country. This ensures customer support, language preferences, features and tools specific to these countries.
It seems that they are only requesting people to do so rather than making it mandatory. I doubt there would be disadvantage for UK customers afterall, we do speak the same lingo, unless someone knows otherwise.
KarlHost
November 25th, 2007, 09:16
Yes you can :)
dogma
November 25th, 2007, 09:21
Cheers!
Decker
November 25th, 2007, 12:32
It'll most likely redirect you, and you probably won't be able to enter the correct reg details if it doesn't (ie country).
fnixws
November 25th, 2007, 13:30
Im warning you to stay away from 1&1. They will do everything they can to make you spend more money with them than you have to.
Their support is terrible, unprofessional and rude. Not to mention the fact when asking about things that should be simple for them, they were telling me it was not possible and i had to upgrade my account from "quick domain" $6.99 to a root server package $99 in order to point my domain at my IP/
Tho 5 emails later, one of their support guys finally realised it was not only possible but a standard feature of every registar.
Its obvious english is not their first language as most of my emails that were replied to had no idea what i had said and made no attempt to actually answer my questions.
STAY AWAY!
dogma
November 25th, 2007, 15:01
It'll most likely redirect you, and you probably won't be able to enter the correct reg details if it doesn't (ie country).
Sent an email for verification. Got a response within a couple of hours saying that it would be possible.
STAY AWAY!
Can you recommend an alternative? (offering a competitive price).
Decker
November 25th, 2007, 15:06
You could have a look at http://www.yourwebpoint.com and they take PayPal or Directi
dogma
November 25th, 2007, 19:26
You could have a look at http://www.yourwebpoint.com and they take PayPal or Directi
Their website doesn't give me much confidence. Not much information on it either especially for someone who is looking to register their first domain (like me!). It also looks like they will charge for services that are offered by 1and1.com like domain forwarding etc.
BTW Do they offer whois privacy? (above all it's the free whois privacy that is swaying me towards 1and1.com atm).
Cheers
Decker
November 25th, 2007, 19:44
I've got over 40 domains with them and they give full control with privacy if you want it, great control options and DNS services that take minutes rather than hours.
They would love to sell you more but there's never any pressure, they don't email you unless it's about renewals or changes you've made.
Their customer interface might not be as 'shiny' as some but the bit behind it is good and support (only needed it once) is very fast.
Just my opinion though :)
Oh and they aren't UK or USA origionated, which is not a problem either, they follow the rules, that is.
themoose
December 2nd, 2007, 09:26
Just use one of the trustworthy domain providers.. there's a sticky in this forum, I reccommend www.name.com
domainhost
December 10th, 2007, 15:25
I would stay away from 1and1. I've heard nothing but BAD things about these guys. Go with someone that has a good rep like GoDaddy. just my 2 cents
dogma
December 10th, 2007, 17:02
Thanks guys. Just registered with name.com
with the exchange rates at the current rate couldn't resist 2 years!
I'll keep yourwebpoint.com in mind next time.
3rd Rock Hosting
December 18th, 2007, 09:34
I would just like to tell you that yourwebpoint.com is a reseller, maybe even a resellers reseller. Look at these 2 websites for proof, compare them.
http://domain.yourwebpoint.com/ (yourwebpoint)
http://ultimahost.myorderbox.com/
The lower one is a reseller domain service i baught on EBAY. Exactly the same dont you think?
:lol:
Decker
December 18th, 2007, 10:09
Yourwebpoint and Directi I believe are linked, myorderbox is a reseller white lable offered through them.
antivirus007
December 26th, 2007, 12:54
I would stay away from 1and1 too
Triggersworld
March 8th, 2008, 18:18
1 and 1 offer good domains at cheap prices but there support is terrible. i had a norton subscription from them as a addon and it took me a few months to figure out how to cancal the subscription.. after many emails i was told the subscription was at a different location. I bought the subscription from my 1and1 acount pannel and had login to some other control pannel to cancel it and now ive cancled it i have to give a 5 months notice. Its such a scam, i advise. "DO NOT SUBSCRIBE TO ANYTHING, BECAUSE CANCELING IT WILL BE A NIGHTMARE'.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.