View Full Version : Review of free hosting site
TSO
December 16th, 2007, 20:20
Hello,
I am interested in hearing reviews regarding the design of our free hosting site (http://www.freezoka.com). We (I, specifically, with a little bit of input from John :)) have put a lot of time into tweaking it recently, and I am wondering what folks think.
Oh, and if necessary, be brutal - I can take it. :)
Sain Cai
December 16th, 2007, 23:15
To me its too plain, and I personally am not a green lover (unless its moolah green :D)
.Andy
December 17th, 2007, 17:00
I like the domain but otherthen that I personaly think it is plain. There is nothing that excites the user.
TSO
December 18th, 2007, 21:00
Thanks for the feedback. What would you guys recommend to improve it?
Havok_Host
December 18th, 2007, 22:40
I can't access it, Im getting an error from siteadvisor saying that this site is trying to steal my information.
Why were you redirected to this page? When we visited this site, we found it may be designed to trick you into submitting your financial or personal information to online scammers. This is a serious security threat which could lead to identity theft, financial losses or other dissemination of personal information.
Decker
December 18th, 2007, 23:16
Run a spyware/virus/everything scan on that machine.
The sites okay but sounds like your hijacked :(
Matt8
December 19th, 2007, 02:21
I have to agree that it is plan and doesn't look very professional. It rings "fly by host" to me. I hate to admit it, but sometimes template monster clones look better to the uneducated eye.
Kwek
December 19th, 2007, 07:47
Simple might be good but sometimes a layout being too simple simply makes it look too plain. You should add some variety to it, and maybe some images too.
hertcast
December 19th, 2007, 13:56
I can't access it, Im getting an error from siteadvisor saying that this site is trying to steal my information.
Came up for me aswell, It's because you have site advisor installed in your browser and that domain might of been used before for a phishing website.
iLucas
December 19th, 2007, 14:51
It's blocked for "Potentially Unwanted Software" by Surf Control.
AdamJ
December 22nd, 2007, 09:39
^Haha Lucas, I just got this from McAfee SiteAdvisor:
www.freezoka.com/ may try to steal your information.
Why were you redirected to this page? When we visited this site, we found it may be designed to trick you into submitting your financial or personal information to online scammers. This is a serious security threat which could lead to identity theft, financial losses or other dissemination of personal information.
EDIT: Here's to proove it, http://www.siteadvisor.com/phishing.html?domain=http://www.freezoka.com/&reason=blacklistref=safe&client_ver=FF_26.5_6254&locale=en-US&premium=false&client_type=FF&aff_id=0
The Stealthy One, your site's blacklisted! *goes to corner to snigger*
TSO
December 22nd, 2007, 19:26
Again (as I have already said many times elsewhere to the same people who have brought this up here), we are aware of the problem, and are in communication with McAfee to resolve it. Our site itself is not a phishing site - a user had a phishing site hosted on one of our subdomains. This site is now removed.
We regularly scan for malware sites, and this one was found by SiteAdvisor before we could remove it.
AdamJ
December 23rd, 2007, 11:53
McAfee won't remove it, so maybe your stuck blacklisted?
Clayton
December 23rd, 2007, 12:49
FWS is blocked too :fangel:
http://www.siteadvisor.com/phishing.html?domain=http://www.freewebspace.net&reason=blacklistref=safe&client_ver=FF_26.5_6254&locale=en-US&premium=false&client_type=FF&aff_id=0
TSO
December 23rd, 2007, 13:25
McAfee won't remove it, so maybe your stuck blacklisted?
No, we're still trying to have it removed. So to say it isn't removed or is removed yet is premature. Believe me - we're working on it, and I'll post more once something happens. :)
FWS is blocked too
http://www.siteadvisor.com/phishing....pe=FF&aff_id=0
Ah ha! See? And we all can trust FWS just fine. :)
Clayton
December 23rd, 2007, 14:19
No, we're still trying to have it removed. So to say it isn't removed or is removed yet is premature. Believe me - we're working on it, and I'll post more once something happens. :)
Ah ha! See? And we all can trust FWS just fine. :)
It's only like that because I changed the url :eek3:
http://www.siteadvisor.com/phishing.html?domain=http://www.freewebspace.net&reason=blacklistref=safe&client_ver=FF_26.5_6254&locale=en-US&premium=false&client_type=FF&aff_id=0
AdamJ
December 23rd, 2007, 14:53
^Thats wrong, I have SiteAdvisor on my Firefox window and its got FWS as green (safe) and has been since I installed SiteAdvisor...
TSO
December 23rd, 2007, 16:44
It's only like that because I changed the url :eek3:
http://www.siteadvisor.com/phishing.html?domain=http://www.freewebspace.net&reason=blacklistref=safe&client_ver=FF_26.5_6254&locale=en-US&premium=false&client_type=FF&aff_id=0
Ah, Ok. It's weird that they would let you do that - seems like they'd run an actual check on the URL before letting the dynamic string run.
Anyway, still working on the problem with SiteAdvisor.
----------------
As for the original intent of this thread...
I just completely changed the way our Website looks (though the basic navigation structure is still the same). I specifically wanted to address the comments that the old site was too plain, and that it looked like a fly-by-night host. Can you guys comment on the new look (http://www.freezoka.com)?
AdamJ
December 23rd, 2007, 17:00
Still can't view it cause of SiteAdvisor...
TSO
December 23rd, 2007, 17:49
SiteAdvisor doesn't even let you bypass the warning? That's pretty lame----.
Again, still trying to get that resolved, but have not yet heard back from McAfee - the ball is in their court now, and I'm very unimpressed.
-----------------
Anyway, thoughts on the new design?
TaoPhoenix
December 24th, 2007, 05:03
Your login process does something with odd "usernames".
You should know that I have a glitch in my Firefox that isn't pulling up Adobe. Once that error appeared, when I went back, all the user data was gone. My attempt to fetch it has failed.
If your logins require obscure usernames instead of user entered handles, that would be a design problem.
TSO
December 28th, 2007, 21:31
^^ That is the easiest way we have found (so far) to manage users, for us and the company we are partnered with (Byethost). I do agree with you that it is not ideal, and there should be a better solution. Unfortunately, because I do not own all of the technology being used, that is a decision I cannot make alone.
Did you receive the email with your account info? If not, please let me know, and I can manually send it to you.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.