PDA

View Full Version : HostGod.net - Reseller And Shared



drinkingsouls
February 13th, 2008, 07:19
Hey, I just discovered HostGod.net who seem to offer pretty cheap Reseller and Shared packages.
I have never paid for hosting before but I am considering getting an account for that price.
I have never heard of them before and I was wondering if anyone was hosted there? Would I be safer to go with a more popular host or do you think it would be okay. I have gone through the spec and talked to the support and it seems very reasonable but Im not sure weather to go with it or not.
What do you guys reccomend?
Thanks

Jan
February 13th, 2008, 07:33
Where did you find them?

Dotcom
February 13th, 2008, 07:52
I think that you have to wait little bit

Creation date: 16 Dec 2007 08:56:23
I think that it will be quite difficult for you to find out more info about them.

drinkingsouls
February 13th, 2008, 09:35
Where did you find them?

They posted a thread in a paid hosting forum.
Yeah, they are pretty new but their packages seem great.
The webmaster tells me they plan on moving to a better server very soon.
It may be worth the risk, I dont think they will scam me or anything, Im just a bit weary of paying for hosting as I never have before.

[JSH]John
February 13th, 2008, 10:43
They offer unlimited web hosting plans and you don't think they'll scam you?

Well I can't say they will scam you but I myself would never go with a web host offering unlimited space. It just doesn't exist since there are limits on the hard drive size.

We can't make your mind up for you but if you do decide to go with them, don't forget to post a review of their services in a few months time...

JasonS
February 13th, 2008, 11:10
Hey,

Why is their logo an N?

stuffradio
February 13th, 2008, 11:22
Why is their logo an N?
You know... that's a good question :)

What does "N" have to do with Host God. There is no letter "N" in their name at all :P

Jan
February 13th, 2008, 16:00
The webmaster tells me they plan on moving to a better server very soon.
Who is the webmaster?

SilverStone
February 13th, 2008, 17:31
Hey, I just discovered HostGod.net who seem to offer pretty cheap Reseller and Shared packages.

I think you should try...:idea:

drinkingsouls
February 13th, 2008, 18:07
Who is the webmaster?

I belive he is called Edward Sim

~ServerPoint~
February 14th, 2008, 02:38
I dont think they will scam me or anything
Learn their payment methods. Sometimes it can say you about many things ;)

drinkingsouls
February 14th, 2008, 05:12
I got the reseller package yesterday. It worked out at £8. Seems good so far. I have o idea who im gonna host though.

Jan
February 14th, 2008, 05:36
Which domain is hosted there?

drinkingsouls
February 14th, 2008, 06:01
What do you mean?
I havnt added my own domain yet, but they gave me a free subdomain.
You can add unlimited amount of domains.

Stan
February 14th, 2008, 06:12
If your looking to be a reseller i suggest looking into Who-Is Privacy, Dedicated IP's and private name servers. Without these, people can easily tell that you are only a reseller, it puts a lot of people off.

Good luck :)

drinkingsouls
February 25th, 2008, 06:43
Okay, Im about three weeks down the line now and it is a good host but it has some issues.
There has been some downtime recently and support takes a long time to sort out any issues (if they do). I still have a problem from sign-up that needs sorting and it as not yet been fixed.

DavidsAwesome
February 26th, 2008, 01:26
How did you sign up? Their order page doesn't exist...

I'm guessing you just sent him money through paypal and talked to him on msn?

When a host doesn't have a billing system, and they're offering unlimited reseller and shared packages.... It puts up a red flag.... I wouldn't have purchased from them even if it was free.

MWH-Jon
February 26th, 2008, 11:26
It's not like you didn't have any warnings about the possible problems you would face, but you signed up anyway.

build-a-host
February 26th, 2008, 11:41
Lets count the good and bad here.

Good:
1. Can't think of anything good about their site or packages since they offer scamming unlimited packages.

Bad:
1. They don't have a billing system to keep track of clients.
2. They offer unlimited disc space and bandwidth, which is not possible.
3. Their website is very generic. Any good hosting business, thats serious about their company will at least invest in a good template or custom design.
4. No physical address.
5. No contact form
6. Has only been in business for 3 months
7. ,,,,,,,,,,,

You get the idea. The bad out weighs the good!

Eclouds
February 26th, 2008, 11:44
Some people never learn.

drinkingsouls
February 28th, 2008, 05:12
The admin has sorted it all now. Im back in business. I dont think its a scam, as in he will take the money and run, but they clearly have a few server issues. Its really not as bad as you guys are making out. I understand that unlimited cannot be true.