PDA

View Full Version : stolen brand name



Tapster
February 15th, 2008, 07:41
I have seen that http://www.------------------- has ripped off http://www.webhostingbuzz.com in terms of web design and brand name. Shame on them! :devious2:
I have got to know about that here: http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?t=671349.
Why do people do it? They must be punished!!!

GeekRack
February 15th, 2008, 07:43
The url you posted is censored so that generally means the site is up to no good :)

Tapster
February 15th, 2008, 08:24
The url you posted is censored so that generally means the site is up to no good :)

It seems the company is really bad. It's right they have been censored here. Anyway the tread on the webhostingtalk.com describes the situation.

Jan
February 15th, 2008, 08:41
Ahh yes, I saw that thread :)

http://www.freewebspace.net/forums/member.php?u=16844281 is the owner here.

Mynode
February 15th, 2008, 11:23
Oh yes, That's somthing i've seen over another site too..

Good luck to them

Decker
February 15th, 2008, 16:20
Is it just me catching up (?) or are those 2 sites totally different in look and feel (just now possibly, you'll have to ref the WHT thread for the links).

The one that can be mentioned is nice, clean, well designed, responsive, yada, yada, and looks very pro. The one that can't be mentioned, well isn't.

Am I missing something basic here?

Oh and 'Stolen Brand Name' - get that right before you lay that one down it can land you in trouble (of the serious type), branding, trademarking, and all the rest a minefield.

Fahrenheit
February 20th, 2008, 09:23
Seems that the first one is not allowed here. As for me they are different web sites in a look.

Mynode
February 20th, 2008, 10:19
TFBH.net has the green layout too, Wonderin if thats the one..

iHubNet-Matt
February 20th, 2008, 13:43
Is it just me catching up (?) or are those 2 sites totally different in look and feel (just now possibly, you'll have to ref the WHT thread for the links).



Yeah, Both looks different for me too.

~ServerPoint~
February 28th, 2008, 07:29
I think that it is quite ordinary situation nowadays. I think that the owner of main web site have to know how to prove he is founder of content or web design.

jovis
February 29th, 2008, 04:43
Am I missing something basic here?

Oh and 'Stolen Brand Name' - get that right before you lay that one down it can land you in trouble (of the serious type), branding, trademarking, and all the rest a minefield.


Even if Webhostingbuzz.com fully owns copyright on their website?

Decker
February 29th, 2008, 06:17
Yep, you'd have to prove ownership of all elements in use elsewhere that are in dispute. Unless there is one in specific that could be proven to be a registered /recognised trademark that had been only slightly modified and used elsewhere.

jovis
February 29th, 2008, 06:49
©2002 - 2008 WHB NETWORKS LLC - All Rights Reserved
Does it mean ownership of all elements? Then it's 2002 and if another website with the same design was created in 2007 it makes things even more obvious.

Decker
February 29th, 2008, 07:15
Copyright, all rights reservered and trademark are 3 different things when it comes down to it.

All that basically says is that you retain rights to the materials published, not ownership however.

jovis
February 29th, 2008, 09:01
Ermm, which hosting company actually OWNS rights for the website they use?

Decker
February 29th, 2008, 09:09
It's content if it's unique, so if you were to say you can't advertise your packages at $5 as I'm doing that forget it, unique content that has direct reference to your business.

It's a minefield, to be honest would it be worth your while?

~ServerPoint~
March 3rd, 2008, 03:12
I think that no one web hosting company will allow someone use their web design to to do someones business.