View Full Version : Kind of creepy...
Schmarvin
March 17th, 2008, 19:40
Okay, I just got bored recently, and so I decided to search my hosting name on google. To my surprise, I see hundreds of listings of the name. Its good to know my site is advertised on other forums and blogs and such, but how and by who?
Here are some examples:
http://freewebhostingnews.blogspot.com/2007/12/glacier-host.html
http://www.webhostersblog.com/glacier-host-resellers-released/
http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=zh-CN&u=http://www.labs.net.cn/archiver/%3Ftid-58189.html&sa=X&oi=translate&resnum=4&ct=result&prev=/search%3Fq%3D%2522glacier%2Bhost%2522%26start%3D30%26hl%3Den %26sa%3DN
http://www.webhostersblog.com/smokyhosts-celebrating-3rd-anniversary-50-lifetime-discounts-only-4-days-left/
http://www.mybbdirectory.com/category13.html
Okay, note that one is translated by Google from chinese because I can't read Chinese, lol. But, thanks to the translator, I see whats on the page.
Now, what do you take of this phenomena?
david432111
March 18th, 2008, 13:46
I noticed the same thing with my site a few weeks ago.
Skylar
March 18th, 2008, 14:28
I see it a lot. It is basically a bot (or maybe a person?) who goes onto WHT and FWS and grabs adverts from the sites, and sometimes other posts. I find it a bit weird too but hey, free advertisement!
fnixws
March 18th, 2008, 15:26
haha yeh, ive noticed the same.
Unfortunatly most are chinese sites, and just send scammers your way :S
[DWH]Yuxuan
March 18th, 2008, 19:12
Are you insinuating something fnixws?
J/k :D
Skylar
March 18th, 2008, 19:16
I've noticed a lot of fraud orders coming from overseas. THe most recent one was better because they paid for a full year including a domain name. I managed to get the money from the domain name back though =)
stonerocket
March 18th, 2008, 20:13
I see it a lot. It is basically a bot (or maybe a person?) who goes onto WHT and FWS and grabs adverts from the sites, and sometimes other posts.
I noticed that going on aswell with chinese sites, I first picked it from checking links in awstats.
Dark Matter
March 19th, 2008, 11:41
bit weird!
I found posts on other websites i have made on here but it was like rewritten to sound as if they written it but it was my original post just jazzed up a little bit
....bit odd
Skylar
March 19th, 2008, 12:03
I noticed that going on aswell with chinese sites, I first picked it from checking links in awstats.
I've noticed my site being randomly scanned by a chinease government website as well, which I found a bit strange.
Dynash
March 19th, 2008, 15:48
I've noticed my site being randomly scanned by a chinease government website as well, which I found a bit strange.
that could be part of the Chinese Firewall procedure. so they know what sites to ban.
Skylar
March 19th, 2008, 17:56
that could be part of the Chinese Firewall procedure. so they know what sites to ban.
so it requires 100+ connections from the same place to see if my site should be banned or not? hmm...
iBrightDev
March 19th, 2008, 18:35
so it requires 100+ connections from the same place to see if my site should be banned or not? hmm...
**off topic**
holy crap, Skylar is back.
Skylar
March 19th, 2008, 18:38
**off topic**
holy crap, Skylar is back.
Ya finally >.< Thats what I get for posting in the wrong area and getting a large enough infraction to ban me for 1 full month! (I re-read the rules about 5 times just to make sure I didn't miss anything this time around :P)
Decker
March 19th, 2008, 18:54
Ya finally >.< Thats what I get for posting in the wrong area and getting a large enough infraction to ban me for 1 full month! (I re-read the rules about 5 times just to make sure I didn't miss anything this time around :P)
:lol: & 100+ from there is quite normal, seems they have a quota to scan :ninja:
Skylar
March 19th, 2008, 19:03
:lol: & 100+ from there is quite normal, seems they have a quota to scan :ninja:
Their TOS says they don't want it over 100 and to contact them if it is or something to that extent
Decker
March 19th, 2008, 19:24
The Chinese Gov? Go on then you tell them off :wink2:
Skylar
March 19th, 2008, 19:48
The Chinese Gov? Go on then you tell them off :wink2:
I finally got sick of it and just banned their IP range :P
Decker
March 19th, 2008, 20:39
:chicken:
:lol:
Itprotj
March 29th, 2008, 11:40
I was at one point giving out free private hosting accounts a few months ago & I googled codestrike like a month after it happened & Wa-la theres the same advert I had on fws on other weird chinese sites...
Strange...
Itprotj
Decker
March 29th, 2008, 11:54
Not strange, the second you offer free hosting with automated signup or any way to fraud/spoof their way through it they plaster it all over their (many) boards, hence so many bad signups that don't stick to rules and try to run scripts in subfolders, etc.
utcrazy
March 29th, 2008, 12:20
I actually just recently got a few orders from some of these sites who have copied my plans to their page for advertisement.
Decker
March 29th, 2008, 12:41
I used to be able to spend hours going through stats for refered from and all sites with a copy of an ad posted, then run it through a translator and some of them were bloody cheeky enough to comment on posts that it wasn't enough disk space, transfer too low, not php5.....
It's a flaming plague on the free hosting community and unfortunately I have to say (without predudice or discrimination) 95% of it was from China IP's, the rest from the nation formerly known as Russia/Russian Federation/basically Eastern Block.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.