View Full Version : Warning: Fraud Orders
[JSH]John
March 16th, 2009, 16:11
This is just a warning for other hosts, I have received a payment from a new client today and a few hours later, a dispute was opened by PayPal for an unauthorised transaction.
Fraud status was 2.50 on MaxMind.
Order Information:
Ordered a reseller account for domain: fourpointone.org
Requested domain registration of: fourpointone.org
The reseller account was to be paid for one year in advance.
Client Information:
Email: rapidshares123@gmail.com
IP Address: 121.7.147.173
ISP: SingNet Pte Ltd
Country: India
PayPal payment email: justin@stra------.com
Due to legal restrictions, I can't give out full details in public. I have gave out enough information to ban both the email and IP address from making orders. If the moderators find some of the information here to be a bit too much, feel free to remove it.
xplhost
March 16th, 2009, 17:14
Thanks for the heads up.
GlennBeforeTime
March 16th, 2009, 19:38
Thanks for this John, I appreciate it. If said person signs up for my hosting I will wait a while before processing it.
DevGFX
March 17th, 2009, 15:50
Thanks for the heads up.
TSO
March 17th, 2009, 17:07
Thanks very much!
~ServerPoint~
March 18th, 2009, 03:39
Thanks. We recently got it and having doubts. So no doubts here anymore, thanks a lot
Technics
March 18th, 2009, 05:58
We got one last night and today with someone using <insert>123@gmail.com - Signing up with our smallest package :)
Same person though :) - Doesn't help when they use a postcode for another town to what they enter.
We've got Maxmind setup with a very strict ruleset.
ExpertWebHost
March 18th, 2009, 07:52
thanks for sharing the info.
jiehao85
March 25th, 2009, 23:24
No wonder it is fishy. SingNet is a Singapore ISP and I don't think they have any operations in India.
SiberForum
March 27th, 2009, 06:16
Thanks. We had a lot of them last summer, It seems they do not sleep and become active again
KTS
March 27th, 2009, 10:45
really big applause for you my friend!
Volt.Networks
March 31st, 2009, 01:08
Shouldn't you remove the Paypal email address they used from this post? Isn't that the email address of a victim?
GlennBeforeTime
March 31st, 2009, 01:35
Shouldn't you remove the Paypal email address they used from this post? Isn't that the email address of a victim?
Could it be guaranteed that this is truly a stolen paypal account? Perhaps this is the original owner doing this stuff. I motion that the email stays up.
[JSH]John
March 31st, 2009, 08:39
I can't edit the original post but if the moderators feel this should be removed, they can remove it. At the time, the PayPal account may have still been in the hands of the fraudsters.
gspcomp
April 29th, 2009, 07:26
Thanks for the heads up :wave:
dbbrock1
July 20th, 2009, 01:54
Hah the email address alone should have been more than enough to determine it was obvious fraud. Stuff like that just sticks out.
In all honesty, I dont even know why you are bothering with posting this. There are probably thousands of new fraud orders in the hosting industry every day. What does 1 matter?
Patrick
July 21st, 2009, 15:06
There are probably thousands of new fraud orders in the hosting industry every day. What does 1 matter?
If it can be prevented, then why not prevent it?
[JSH]John
July 21st, 2009, 16:16
Exactly. It's an old thread too so well done on bringing it back up.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.