PDA

View Full Version : New Host, but I'm not sure it's that good



~pEnGuIn~
March 25th, 2002, 15:02
http://webalized.wox.org/

They offer:

yourname.wox.org OR yourdomain.com
unlimited POP3 with anything@yourname.wox.org/yourdomain.com
200MB space
unmerged bandwidth
own CGI that runs from anywhere on your site
PHP (latest version)
MySQL with 50MB space
Advanced members control panel.
*Other features like ASP or Telnet can be installed upon request
*NO ADS
Price: FREE


Only problem is that

a) They look too good to be true
b) They look a lot like webhost4u.sinfree.net, which died after a month... ha! It's probably the same people too...

I'd watch this one a little before signing up...

~Bethany T.

Giancarlo
March 25th, 2002, 15:08
They have this advertising catch where you have to sign up for one of their advertisers, so yes I think they are a scam.

~pEnGuIn~
March 25th, 2002, 15:15
If it's the same people as webhost4u.sinfree.net, at least they're being a little more "realistic." At webhost4u.sinfree.net, they were tryng to offer 700 mb and just about every feature invented... but this one's not gonna work either! They don't even ask for your e-mail address on the sign-up page (duh)!

~Bethany T.

Giancarlo
March 25th, 2002, 15:18
Bingo. you just found concrete evidence that they are a scam.

msn
March 25th, 2002, 17:46
We have access to the sponsor's database. Every week we compare our signups with signups to our sponsors and if Email addresses of both are identical, then you get a webhosting without ads!
Think about it. They don't ask for your e-mail address on the sign-up page. How could they identical you e-mail?
They are scam. webhost4u.sinfree.net version 2

Giancarlo
March 25th, 2002, 17:49
The idiot who starts these scams should be taught a lesson.

biggulp
March 26th, 2002, 02:34
why does webhost4u.sinfree.net redirect to zapo.net?

msn
March 26th, 2002, 02:36
Are they running by the same people?

Jan
March 26th, 2002, 02:50
Check this out :devious2:



Webalized.wox.org is a project that prooves that it's possible to offer free webhosting WITHOUT ADS and make it pay for itself.
We have started thinking about it in January of this year as new site appeared called
http://www.------------------/. They offer free domains just by getting 100 points. That is pretty easy. To earn points you just had to signup for some stuff and reffer friends. Another comapny called Marhost.com offers free hosting just if you sign up for their sponsor.

Our big idea: Why not to launch our server and to try to 'make webhosting pay for itself'?
How for itself? Well, pretty easy, there are lots of ways: to make people signup for sponsors before signup, to make people to reffer 5 friends in order to get the free hosting, etc....

We thought about the possibilities and made up following system:
1. You signup for our free webhosting
2. {You signup for our sponsor to become webhosting WITHOUT ADS and ability to request any additional features} OR {You don't signup for our sponsor and become a bannerframe on your site (we suggest you to signup for the sponsor because it is FREE and FAST to signup)}
3. We have access to the sponsor's database. Every week we compare our signups with signups to our sponsors and if Email addresses of both are identical, then you get a webhosting without ads!

Our server is up and running. We expect to run forever if the project is successful. If the project is not successful and we can't earn enough money through sponsors/banners in order to pay for the hosting, then we expect to run for about 2-3 years.

Proceed with caution!

conkermaniac
March 26th, 2002, 04:06
Originally posted by biggulp
why does webhost4u.sinfree.net redirect to zapo.net?

Fateback (which owns the domain sinfree.net) uses a 404 ad to make money, which means, if a user types in a URL that doesn't exist on their server, it will redirect them to an ad page. Now, this ad page just happens to be Zapo.net. Yep, that's right...Fateback deleted Webhost4u thanks to an observant user on FWS. :)

conkermaniac
March 26th, 2002, 04:08
Hmm...this is strange.

Try going to: http://www.wox.org/

It redirects you to http://www.dhs.org, which is a free DNS provider. :)

Moonman
March 26th, 2002, 04:18
Originally posted by conkermaniac
Hmm...this is strange.

Try going to: http://www.wox.org/

It redirects you to http://www.dhs.org, which is a free DNS provider. :)
well i actually had a post with all the info that it was a scam, and a mod (i think i know which one :p) deleted it.

~pEnGuIn~
March 26th, 2002, 05:52
I think they're trying to make money by getting you to sign up with their "sponsers," then after awhile, they just disappear because people are gonna start to notice they aren't getting their accounts.

~Bethany T.

funkyemodude
March 26th, 2002, 06:58
notice at the VERY bottom of the site:
"Members so far: 874 | Average daily bandwidth used: 4,456,380KB".

i don't believe it.

~pEnGuIn~
March 26th, 2002, 14:29
notice at the VERY bottom of the site:
"Members so far: 874 | Average daily bandwidth used: 4,456,380KB".

i don't believe it.

Neither do I. They're probably only using that to look legitimate.

~Bethany T.

Giancarlo
March 26th, 2002, 15:18
Originally posted by funkyemodude
notice at the VERY bottom of the site:
"Members so far: 874 | Average daily bandwidth used: 4,456,380KB".

i don't believe it.

Yeah that is a lie... I don't believe it either.

EpidemiK
March 26th, 2002, 18:58
Originally posted by funkyemodude
notice at the VERY bottom of the site:
"Members so far: 874 | Average daily bandwidth used: 4,456,380KB".

i don't believe it.
Hehe, the number of members and bandwidth don't ever change either :-)

Cracker
March 26th, 2002, 21:26
What the heck is "unmerged bandwidth" anyway?

Carboran
March 26th, 2002, 22:15
A HA HA HA HA

I "signed up" just to see what happens, without signing for any sponsors in order to get hosting with ads, and this is what I got
Thank you!
All requests are processed manually. You will get a confirmatiln email in the next days!
Back to main page

How the he*l are they going to notify me if they never asked me for my e-mail?

Oh, BTW, has anyone noticed that they don't have any contact information? Pathetic!!!!!!

And I also reported them yo their sponsors for chicanery