View Full Version : Verisign (Network Solutions) Mail Scam?
zoobie
March 26th, 2002, 02:01
I got an email from GoDaddy stating that Verisign (formerly Network Solutions) was contacting expiring GoDaddy registered domains through the U.S. mails 'reminding' them to renew their domains with Verisign at 3 times the cost.
I pitched the email...then thought of this forum... :rolleyes: ...but I found it here: http://www.godaddy.com/gdshop/private_vsrn.asp?isc=&se=%2B&from%5Fapp=&rhl=gd+hdr&mscssid=608175 :D
Beware!
thewitt
March 26th, 2002, 12:50
Versign is sending this out to everyone, not just GoDaddy customers. We've had a number of questions from our customers.
The letter comes deceptively packaged as an invoice, and in our opinion clearly falls into the "False Billing" category for US Mail fraud.
We have advised our customers to file a mail fraud complaint with the US Postal Service.
-t
murat
March 26th, 2002, 12:55
i get spam from dirtcheapdomain.com
Chicken
March 27th, 2002, 01:40
Murat, this isn't spam though, it is an invoice looking snail mail disguised to look like a renewal invoice which actually results in your transferring your domain.
They have an example of the letter here: http://www.godaddy.com/gdshop/private_vsrn.asp?isc=&se=%2B&from%5Fapp=&display=letter&mscssid=608175
The Red Guy
March 28th, 2002, 03:26
Verisign is very unscrupulous. (How do I spell it?)
Todd
March 28th, 2002, 12:19
It's not just VeriSign that sends these out. I've received reports that Register.com and others are doing the same thing. I just received one from the Domain Registry of America. http://www.droamerica.com
I really disliked the last one as they proudly show the USA flag as their logo and that is no doubt intended to confuse consumers. On the plus side it's hard to let a domain expire without notice now, you'll have at least two registrars reminding you to renew through snail mail. :)
MN-Carl
March 28th, 2002, 12:24
Originally posted by Todd
It's not just VeriSign that sends these out. I've received reports that Register.com and others are doing the same thing. I just received one from the Domain Registry of America. http://www.droamerica.com
I really disliked the last one as they proudly show the USA flag as their logo and that is no doubt intended to confuse consumers. On the plus side it's hard to let a domain expire without notice now, you'll have at least two registrars reminding you to renew through snail mail. :)
:rolleyes: Yeh ... i suppose thats good .....
But some slow ppl wont know whats happening until its too late ... and then they might have transfered their domain to Network solutions .... :nervous: :eek:
The Red Guy
March 28th, 2002, 23:03
Originally posted by cdudeuk18
:rolleyes: Yeh ... i suppose thats good .....
But some slow ppl wont know whats happening until its too late ... and then they might have transfered their domain to Network solutions .... :nervous: :eek: Isn't this considered cheating?
thewitt
March 29th, 2002, 10:10
Actually it's worse than cheating, it seems to be Mail Fraud.
The US Postal service has strict regulations about the tactic known as False Billing, and the Verisign mail appears to fall neatly into this bucket.
The details have been posted on a number of forums and they are very convincing.
If you receive one of these notices, and you care, I would encourage you to fill out the online form at the USPS website and help stop this illegal practice.
-t
Master_tee
April 13th, 2002, 18:02
i know isnt it dumb? :mad: here are some smiles 1:) 2:( 3:o 4:D 5;) 6:p 7:cool: 8:rolleyes: 9:madchrist heh
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.