View Full Version : Compila
Bad_Moon_Rising
April 23rd, 2002, 16:57
I am thinking of getting hosting from www.compila.com, it says on the advert they are reseller packages...what does this mean?
Are compila any good, anyone else use them ?. Also my site is an abandonware site but I will only be hosting the html with compila.
Any suggestions for cheap uk hosts that might be able to help me costing no more than say £25 a year, I dont need lots of bandwidth and the only 'extra' I need is FTP . Any help would be appreciated as I dont know too much about this hosting game (as you can probably tell)
<<removed "," from URL>>
cirque
April 23rd, 2002, 17:23
If they're resellers, it means that they but their space/transfer from a third company. Basically this means that they don't have their own server(s). Some prefer to buy their hosting from a "proper" company, but it's all up to you. Try to find out how dedicated they are, if this is a "job" or simply a hobby.
And to answer your question about cheap hosting, I can recommend Dixiesys (http://www.dixiesys.com). They have their own servers, and I've been hosting with them since new year. They have some good packages, starting from $20/year (if I remember correctly).
Anyway, look around
MN-Carl
April 23rd, 2002, 17:25
Compila have there own servers
Bad_Moon_Rising
April 23rd, 2002, 17:29
well it says reseller packages on their 'web user' advert oh well guess it doesnt matter.
neftha
April 23rd, 2002, 18:47
It's getting kind a boring with hosting companies these days but here is what I got regarding their transfer rules:
6.) Monthly bandwidth allowance is stated as unlimited. However, if we feel that a customer is using excessive amounts of bandwidth, and is affecting the service we provide to our other customers, then we reserve the right to cancel their hosting package and offer them a full refund less any domain name registration fees. Any sites running mySQL bulletin boards, message forums or Chat services are limited to 3Gb of bandwidth per month.
First of all ... they mislead you by offering "unlimited" bandwidth which isn't unlimited at all (there is no such thing) and bandwidth is actually something else, we are talking about transfer here. Secondly, their website was very slow. Could be my internet connection (allthough I have cable and other sites seem to load fine).
Wouldn't do it if I were you but than again ... that's just my opinion :D
guitarnerd
April 24th, 2002, 02:32
3gb of transfer is VERY little and on top of that the link that you gave didn't even work so I would say stay away.
ukhost
April 24th, 2002, 03:35
Originally posted by guitarnerd
3gb of transfer is VERY little and on top of that the link that you gave didn't even work so I would say stay away.
The url is http://compila.com , their site was not down there was a "," at the end of the link that's all ;)
Technics
April 24th, 2002, 11:04
Compila have servers located in Host Europe's NOC. They arent resellers but last time i looked they offerred a very competative reseller program.
Bad_Moon_Rising
April 24th, 2002, 11:42
Thanks for all your replies, I have emailed compila advising them of the type of content I wanted to put on my site and they dont seem too happy about it(i have an a/w site, just wanted them to host the html though). Still talking to then but seems they wont have it, so I am back to suare one :(
roby2k
April 26th, 2002, 04:40
dont go with them they are crap & there servers are insecure they are a powerfusion reseller! i found a security hole in there sytem using cgitelnet
MN-Carl
April 26th, 2002, 10:19
Originally posted by roby2k
dont go with them they are crap & there servers are insecure they are a powerfusion reseller! i found a security hole in there sytem using cgitelnet
bull----
they are not powerfusion resellers ...
they have cobalt raq servers from host europe :)
roby2k
April 27th, 2002, 16:06
well thats what i got told by some script that will tell you what they run etc i carnt remember the url but if u look around its in this fourm some where. if i can find it i could give you access to there MYSQL Root password that would prove that they are insecure. PM Me and i will prove it to you!
1q1q1q
April 27th, 2002, 17:35
Originally posted by roby2k
well thats what i got told by some script that will tell you what they run etc i carnt remember the url but if u look around its in this fourm some where. if i can find it i could give you access to there MYSQL Root password that would prove that they are insecure. PM Me and i will prove it to you!
using some scripts to get password without authorization is hacking...:angry2:
I use compila also and I think that their support are great with such a cheap price.
roby2k
April 29th, 2002, 14:24
i was using the script to upload & download in college and i DID report the vunerabilty to them and my account was deleted. it was my mate who found out how to use the linux command & Search. Please also note i had no intentions of messing with the server, i was not out to bring them down. and the vunerabilty was imidatly reported to them
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.