PDA

View Full Version : hostflare True or False



onlinemob
July 2nd, 2002, 15:08
I was just browsing and an ad got my EYE. http://www.hostflare.com/

Host Flare's
One Price - One Package - 28 great features!
YourName.com Custom Cgi-bin
1 GB Webspace PHP Enabled / OK
7 GB Bandwidth SSI Enabled / OK
Unlimited Sub-Users Flash Enabled / OK
Unlimited Emails POP3 / Webmail
MySQL Database Frontpage Enabled / OK
Sub-domains Website Stats
Majordomo Mailing Lists Email Forwarders
Custom 404 Pages Password Protected Directories
No Forced Ads Telnet (SSH) Access
24/7 FTP Access 99.7% Server Uptime
No Hidden Fees No Setup Fees
Free Cgi Scripts Website Backups
Account Setup In Less Than 24 Hours Free Search Engine Submission
Only $7.77 Per Month!
11 Packages Left

These are the 7 people LOL
:D

Soujirou
July 2nd, 2002, 21:32
site looks like a scam to me though :(

onlinemob
July 3rd, 2002, 11:09
Yeah it looks like a scam but is it

spork
July 3rd, 2002, 11:28
hmm... exacly what about it makes it look like a scam?

Soujirou
July 3rd, 2002, 14:20
Originally posted by spork
hmm... exacly what about it makes it look like a scam?

maybe i'm paranoid but from the looks of it, yes it's a nice package with some features shinging out from other web hosts. but whether is it reliable or not i guess you gotta try it b4 you know :D.

conkermaniac
July 3rd, 2002, 14:30
If your webpage is 7 KB, that means you can receive 1 million hits per month! 7 GB bandwidth is equivalent to 7,000 MB.

:rolleyes:

Bruce
July 3rd, 2002, 14:40
7 GB bandwidth is equivalent to 7,000 MB.Too bad it's not. 7 GB is equivalent to 7,168 MB.

Soujirou
July 3rd, 2002, 15:11
lol it's rare to find sites that are only 7kb (excluding under construction and empty sites) :D :D

rpungin
July 9th, 2002, 01:43
So far looks like a scam.... I signed up with them 1 day ago, but have not received any account activation email so far. Also the fact that they only use paypal for payments seems rather sketchy. I'll wait couple of days for the email and then will probably cancel.

richo
July 9th, 2002, 03:21
Well, if you signed up a day ago, and they advertise 24 hour activation, and you haven't got your account info yet... I guess 2 and 2 can be put together.

Especially such a new host - it is these early customers that count. I for one would want to impress them, keep them happy.

Not at all saying that it is a scam, it just seems that they aren't too motivated.

I did some maths. Giving 1GB space per account, means, with a 40GB harddrive, they'd be able to manage 40 accounts absolute tops (realistically it'd be around 30-32). A RackShack box (which is what their whois says they've got), has 400GB transfer. Even with a full 40 sites using their 7GB transfer, they're only using 280GB transfer, meaning that they've got at least 120GB untouched. They are either underselling themselves, or overselling. Neither are good business practice.

Sorry if I looked into it too much. It is just naturally me (on a daily basis, I'd do probably 30-40 whois searches).

Winnie
July 9th, 2002, 14:33
Remember to see Paypal's policy of the last date you can cancel easily.

Otherwise, you will need to go through paypal's complaint process. It isn't trouble-some, but can create headaches if the receipient denies anything.


Originally posted by rpungin
So far looks like a scam.... I signed up with them 1 day ago, but have not received any account activation email so far. Also the fact that they only use paypal for payments seems rather sketchy. I'll wait couple of days for the email and then will probably cancel.