PDA

View Full Version : bannerkillers...



cowax
March 20th, 2001, 17:36
Check out their site @ http://www.bannerkillers.f2s.com and you'll be greeted with a message talking about some "possible lawsuit". A must read! I know webdude has been looking for something like this...

Epgs
March 20th, 2001, 18:08
yeah i am not suprised. most fwp hate them (i think).

oh thats cool i find a link to freewebspace.net on their website



[Edited by Epgs on 03-20-2001 at 07:12 PM]

Epgs
March 20th, 2001, 18:09
i am suprised f2s hasn't kicked them

cowax
March 20th, 2001, 18:18
They also have bannerkillers---------- last time I checked........ I'm surprised cjb hasnt kicked them off

They had a domain through namezero, and got busted ;)

keith
March 20th, 2001, 19:01
i don't know what's up at --------. in their policies (http://www----------/policies.html), they state they don't allow subdomains with "material that promotes, encourages, or provides instructional information about illegal activities."

when you sign up for any free webspace service with ads, you agree to show their ads on their space you are using. if you take the ads down, that is illegal, or else the host would do nothing about it. -------- was told a hell of a lot about that site on the old freewebspace.net threaded boards, and according to a lot of people on the old boards, was sent a lot of emails about the site.

don't get me wrong, -------- is the best out there, i've just always been a bit confused about that subdomain. maybe they got a lot of hits, and in turn, gave -------- a lot of traffic, so he looked the other way in bannerkillers' case. just a thought.

Epgs
March 20th, 2001, 19:05
well they are using it for educational purposes or crap like that. i am not sure of the real law

keith
March 20th, 2001, 19:07
oh yeah, you can be all technical like that. it's the same as all these mp3 archive sites that say "disclaimer: you must delete this in 24 hours or you'll go to jail and cannot hold us responsible". it's all b.s. everyone think's they're a lawyer. ;)

Nick
March 20th, 2001, 20:49
Originally posted by keith
everyone think's they're a lawyer. ;)

I have the advantage... *Shouts downstairs "Hey mom!..."* ;)

Canuckkev
March 20th, 2001, 21:09
Originally posted by keith
oh yeah, you can be all technical like that. it's the same as all these mp3 archive sites that say "disclaimer: you must delete this in 24 hours or you'll go to jail and cannot hold us responsible". it's all b.s. everyone think's they're a lawyer. ;)

I believe emulators and roms apply to that rule, but mp3's? Give me a break. Posting stuff like that is worse than having no disclaimer at all.

Webdude
March 20th, 2001, 23:10
Heh.....well I never really had to worry about them. Had they come out with a code I couldnt deal with, which is highly unlikely, we had a letter from our attorney's on file for it. So no biggie. He seems to think he has a huge following that will lash back at any fwp that goes against him. What a laugh..LOL

Koolguy
March 20th, 2001, 23:49
With all of the potential ad revenue that prick could've made from his 600 + thousand visitors he would be able to pay 10 bucks for hosting.

Koolguy
March 20th, 2001, 23:52
Taken from http://www.hypermax.net.au/~user/hollstar/BK/Code/worldzone.html
Offering a fantasic 100 MB why not give them a go! They do not accept Warze & Porn sites so dont try to host your page here if you plan to run such a page. However, because of the amount of space they are offering then would make for a great place to dump your files!

jeeze...

Rodie
March 21st, 2001, 00:05
I remember a few months ago somebody posted a link to that site and they had some lame java-script set up where you actually had to click on a banner to gain access to their site.. heh, it was the funniest (and most ironic) thing I've ever seen.

Coolin
March 21st, 2001, 00:59
Originally posted by Rodie
I remember a few months ago somebody posted a link to that site and they had some lame java-script set up where you actually had to click on a banner to gain access to their site.. heh, it was the funniest (and most ironic) thing I've ever seen. Actually, Bannerkillers used to have that right on their site.

cowax
March 21st, 2001, 09:49
It was a modchip banner where you would have to click on "Click here to enter" link for Bannerkillers to actually get somethin. I've heard that modchip doesnt really pay out though.... too bad for bannerkillers ;) :D

Epgs
March 21st, 2001, 16:47
i rmember that one

Rodie
March 21st, 2001, 23:45
Originally posted by Coolin

Originally posted by Rodie
I remember a few months ago somebody posted a link to that site and they had some lame java-script set up where you actually had to click on a banner to gain access to their site.. heh, it was the funniest (and most ironic) thing I've ever seen. Actually, Bannerkillers used to have that right on their site.

like i said