View Full Version : freededicatedservers.com - Infringe- and abusement
FWP-Cop001
April 12th, 2001, 06:59
Hello, let me introduce myself a bit.
I´m supporting the Internet Watch Organisation by reporting sites to them that abuse the internet in any possible way. Ranging from Software Pirating to Child Pornography. I would like to show you a copy of an email I´ve send to 'freededicatedservers.com' recently to ensure that you won´t trap this fair swindle. This is no slander or defamation of this ostensive offer but an advice.
No here´s the message:
Subject: Admonition (according to freededicatedservers.com
Hello,
I see that your queer site 'freededicatedservers.com' is still accessable
throughout the net and I await you to take of your service within one week or
I´ll report it to the Internet Watch Organisation immediately as I do know
that it´s not in agreement with the (formally published) official internet guide
lines.
I have the substantiated right to denunciate 'freededicatedservers.com' as
I´ve made several experiences which confirmed my suspicion that you´re abusing
and exploiting the system via unjustified methods. I do warn you with this
statement and if you do not acknowledge this message shortly I´ll have to suit
the action to the word.
Regards,
Erik Verlers
Freelance Associate of IWO, Inc.
Feel free to comment ;)
Baggio
April 12th, 2001, 07:52
ok, I ain't got much of an idea on this, but what hv they done that doesn't follow the internet agreement thingy?
Giancarlo
April 12th, 2001, 08:23
I notice that your claims are completely unsubtantatied, if you take this to court the judge will laugh you out of the court room. This company can file suit for harassment if you continue with this completely unsupported threats. For a change, get some actual evidence because as far as I can see, I really can't see what you are accusing them of and I can't see a single shred of evidence proving it.
That is a little advice, compile your evidence and actually tell us what you are accusing them of. It would help you if you go to court against them... AND TELL US WHAT THE HECK YOU ARE ACCUSING THEM OF.
Epgs
April 12th, 2001, 08:24
yeah what was the exact content that infringed it?
BiteTheBugByte
April 12th, 2001, 08:35
Actually Erik (that´s what his real name is) is working on the same company I´m on, just don´t take this post for real, he´s just a little bit pissed, because the webmaster of http://www.freededicatedservers.com refused him, when he asked for membership, I must admit that his post is really a lil bit ridiculous but I have to agree with Fwpcop..., http://www.freededicatedservers.com asked him to put their banners on his pages to show that he´s 'good enough' for their membership and then they simply ripped him off, told him that he didn´t accumulate enough visitors (though in this case it was a lie) and he never heard anything again.
In a certain way I can understand what he mentioned above, okay, it´s something exaggerated but please forgive him, "normally" he´s a nice guy, lol.
Giancarlo
April 12th, 2001, 08:39
Hmmm, they are giving away free servers as it seems, so I don't think Erik is in no position to complain. He has overexraggeration, he can be denied membership for any reason and does not have to be told about it. That is perfectly legal.
Epgs
April 12th, 2001, 08:42
yeah i concur with you, free server and complaining jeez
BiteTheBugByte
April 12th, 2001, 08:56
well, for me it is scam, definitely, I don´t even think that they have just one single member but that´s only my opinion, I won´t attack them though, right.
Rick
April 12th, 2001, 13:34
I thought I'd give them a try, just to see what happened, since it doesn't cost me anything to paste a few banners on my site... I was turned down as well.
Their response:
"Although your CTR was very good, the conversion rate of your clients was almost non existent so sponsors were reluctant to sign you up for a server. Please try again in the future."
Ok... I got shot down... What's a "conversion rate"?
akashik
April 12th, 2001, 14:17
CTR = click through rate. They seem happy with the amount of people that were poking madly at the banners on your site.
Conversion rate however is once those people click the banner, it needs to be 'converted' into a sale (of whatever they clicked at in the first place).
Personally I think anyone relying on banner hits and sales to pay for their servers is on shaky ground at best. If they *are* making money from it, they can toss you off it seems, and just give you the line you mentioned
Looks like scam-101 to me. :)
Greg Moore
keith
April 12th, 2001, 14:39
rick, that's their scam. although it's not costing you money, they are undoubtedly getting money for showing their banners on your site. i've applied there 3 separate times with different alliases, twice with sites that got well under their minimum standards, and got accepted to show banners every time [never showed them though, knew i'd get screwed].
then once you show their banners for the two weeks, they'll sure as hell turn you down, making up some bogus statistic that's impossible for you yourself to track. then they collect the money you made them by showing their ads. simple as that. 100% scam. don't even bother with them [him].
LeX
April 12th, 2001, 23:29
"Although your CTR was very good, the conversion rate of your clients was almost non existent so sponsors were reluctant to sign you up for a server. Please try again in the future."
Heh, they make it sound so professional. And they want you to "try again in the future"?! Wow...
Yo, Gayowulf! Didn't you mention some time ago that you know of a person who has his site hosted at http://www.freeededicatedservers.com? Well?
Gayowulf
April 12th, 2001, 23:30
I have an Email from a person who tried to sign up with this service, and after the 2 week "assessment" time their site was declined for no reason. It is pretty obviously a scam, but not too much is illegal about it.
niv
April 24th, 2001, 16:43
Originally posted by Giancarlo
I notice that your claims are completely unsubtantatied, if you take this to court the judge will laugh you out of the court room. This company can file suit for harassment if you continue with this completely unsupported threats. For a change, get some actual evidence because as far as I can see, I really can't see what you are accusing them of and I can't see a single shred of evidence proving it.
That is a little advice, compile your evidence and actually tell us what you are accusing them of. It would help you if you go to court against them... AND TELL US WHAT THE HECK YOU ARE ACCUSING THEM OF.
it's not a company. it's a scam.
duh?
cowax
April 24th, 2001, 17:50
Originally posted by FWP-Cop001
Hello,
I see that your queer site 'freededicatedservers.com' ...[/B]
Queer site? How old are you?
Chicken
April 24th, 2001, 20:15
I seem to remember warning people about this, but *sigh* no one listens to the bird.
niv
April 24th, 2001, 22:19
/me patpats the Chicken :p
Omari
April 24th, 2001, 23:26
it's just like a telemarketing scam except the money comes from ads on the sites instead of the site's owner's pocket
psx-dude
April 25th, 2001, 21:00
It's a complete scam. It must be. They want you to put their ads on your site for 14 days, to "check" bandwidth? Yea right, they are getting free advertising and will reject anyone who tries it.
keith
April 25th, 2001, 21:55
Originally posted by psx-dude
It must be.
it is, you're exactly right. you show the ads and they reject you no matter what happens.
King Chou
April 26th, 2001, 15:53
I have the proof here. Read this, qouted directly from their 'trial membership' page:
"...the sponsors who pay for our Dedicated Servers will pay for the Setup, Maintenance Costs and ALL COSTS associated with the your Free Dedicated Server."
Tell me, which advertiser is going to do this?
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.