PDA

View Full Version : Stupid ****ing SPAM!



Nick
June 20th, 2003, 18:19
I keep getting this stupid Best Buy fraud email:



Dear customer,

Recently we have received an order made by using your personal credit card information.
This order was made online at our official BestBuy website on 06/19/2003.
Our Fraud Department has some suspicions regarding this order and we need you to visit a special Fraud Department page at our web store where you can confirm or decline this transaction by providing us with the correct information.
Your e-mail address has been taken from National Credit Bureau.

Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
ORDER# 1095619 - STATUS: SUSPENDED
ITEMS PURCHASED
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Item No: 73890
CDA-9815 In-Dash CD Player/Ai-Changer Controller
Price: $387.65 Qty: 2 Total: $775.3
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The order listed above has not yet been processed.
The reason for the delay in processing your order is:

- UNVERIFIED SHIPPING ADDRESS

- Information provided:
Shipping
41 WINHAM ST
Staten Island, NY 10306
United States
phone# 206-337-9843

In our effort to deter fraudulent transactions, we need your help in providing us with the correct information. Your prompt response is needed to avoid any unauthorized charges to your credit card.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Click the link below to visit a special Fraud Department page to resolve the cause of the problem.
BestBuy.com/fraud_department.html


And now my mom is getting it and I have to come read it EVERY time she gets it cause she gets scared, especially since this is something that I would order (CD player for my car). Each email has a different address for the link. I wish I knew where the son of a ----- who started this lives, I'd go to their house and beat the person until they were no longer able to type to prevent them from doing this ---- anymore.

/end rant

Canuckkev
June 20th, 2003, 18:45
Hmm, well, maybe, by the odd chance, the email address used was a typo? I suppose all you can do is email BestBuy.

Nick
June 21st, 2003, 00:29
No it's a scam to collect personal information and credit card numbers. The links go to other sites that appear to be Best Buy pages.

Bruce
June 21st, 2003, 00:48
Care to post the headers so we can see where it came from?