PDA

View Full Version : Is this email really from Paypal.com?



darkcurves
November 13th, 2003, 23:14
Look at this cheap trick to get Paypal accounts. I got this email with this attachment 'paypal.asp.scr'. As far as i know, i don't even have an account at Paypal coz they never accept Malaysian CC.


Dear PayPal member,

PayPal would like to inform you about some important information regarding your PayPal account. This account, which is associated with this email address will be expiring within five business days. We apologize for any inconvenience that this may cause, but this is occurring because all of our customers are required to update their account settings with their personal information.

We are taking these actions because we are implementing a new security policy on our website to insure everyone's absolute privacy. To avoid any interruption in PayPal services then you will need to run the application that we have sent with this email (see attachment) and follow the instructions. Please do not send your personal information through email, as it will not be as secure.

IMPORTANT! If you do not update your information with our secure application within the next five business days then we will be forced to deactivate your account and you will not be able to use your PayPal account any longer. It is strongly recommended that you take a few minutes out of your busy day and complete this now.

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS MESSAGE VIA EMAIL! This mail is sent by an automated message system and the reply will not be received.

Thank you for using PayPal.

Canuckkev
November 13th, 2003, 23:25
Yes, at first it seemed somewhat real, I think most Paypal emails begin like that. So, probably it will catch lots of people. Too bad people fall so easily for such scams...

Gayowulf
November 14th, 2003, 00:02
Check the header to be sure.

striker
November 14th, 2003, 00:42
.scr file is usually virus

Canuckkev
November 14th, 2003, 01:39
Either that or a screensaver...

Anyways, isn't a scr just an exe renamed?

darkcurves
November 14th, 2003, 05:50
Originally posted by Canuckkev
Yes, at first it seemed somewhat real, I think most Paypal emails begin like that. So, probably it will catch lots of people. Too bad people fall so easily for such scams...

Yeah too bad.

notnamed
November 14th, 2003, 09:48
No, it's not. Paypal wouldn't send attachments with supposed applications to "update your settings" and "keep your account".




They'd delete it without telling you :biggrin2: ;)

Conscript
November 14th, 2003, 13:24
No company ever sends attachments to its clients. All applications are done via secure servers (https://paypal.com). So thats definitley a fraud.

Robert
November 14th, 2003, 13:47
We've confirmed it with paypal and it is fake.