PDA

View Full Version : awesome host



icreation
May 6th, 2001, 19:10
http://hosting.datablocks.net/

I just found them like 5 minutes ago! great free hosting, just check out what they offer.

The Free Package!
Yourname.datablocks.net
20 MB Space
5 E-mail Accounts
Ftp Access
Banner Free!
MS FrontPageŽ Extensions
Full CGI capabilities (including PHP4)
Password Protected Directories
1 Mysql Database
24HR Support
Daily Backups

this is awesome and its farking free! check this out QUICK!

Haze
May 6th, 2001, 19:16
They have been around for a while, not to mention talked about a lot here. Although they have been around for a long time and seem to have a lot of backing there service is down often.

Epgs
May 6th, 2001, 21:25
yes they have been around a long time. and a very popular host.

ISAfxp
May 7th, 2001, 03:28
thatz the only free host I use ATM (with multimania that allows php now) .... fast , ftp , cgi , php :) ... all cool and 100% Free 100% adsfree ... simply the best as long as it lasts.

LastActionHero
May 7th, 2001, 07:00
Didn't datablocks become a pop-up host some time back?

Lynks
May 7th, 2001, 08:08
Exactly what I was thinking (Popups)

???

Epgs
May 7th, 2001, 16:52
yeah they do have popups

Coolin
May 7th, 2001, 19:40
They took off the popups because of "technical difficulties" I'm sure they'll be back in the near future though. I would have used them if they have inline banners instead of popups :(

Cashgrabber
May 8th, 2001, 02:17
hosting.datablocks.net at first sounded like a good deal. But then I went to sign up, and they require your address and phone number! for free hosting.

Also, if you agree to their TOS, they can charge YOU $9.95 if you don't abide to some of their terms. Such as:


1.Any or all information that you provide WILL BE SHARED with any of our advertisers and partners.

2.You consent to allow us to register you as your AGENT to specialty products and services FREE OF CHARGE as offered by our advertisers and partners.

3. You consent to your information to be disclosed to any or all third parties that wish to enhance the Freesites.com and Datablocks.net list of services.

4. You consent to allow us to SELL or RENT YOUR information to any or all third parties interested in purchasing it as long as the revenues from the sales go towards ensuring that FreeSites.Com and Datablocks.net remain in operation.

5. You consent that any or all offer sent to you via email will not be opt'ed out by you for a minimu period of 90 (Ninety) business days.

9. You consent that any violation of conditions 1-5 we reserve the right to BILL YOU for the amount of $9.95 for a PERSONAL (free) type account or $29.95 for a business account.

That sucks big time. I'm not using them for that reason.

Omari
May 8th, 2001, 03:14
ever heard of fake info?

LeX
May 8th, 2001, 07:50
A lot of services around asks for your phone number and mailing address, but rarely does anybody really fill in their real info. Besides, they won't know, so what they don't know won't hurt 'em. :p j/k....

Seriously, though, WTF's a fwp gonna do with your phone number? Annoy you? Abuse you? Adversite? :confused: The most likely answer is they don't do anything with it - they just had the pleasure of wasting your time trying to dream up a fake phone number. *shrugs*

d99janh
May 8th, 2001, 12:18
>9. You consent that any violation of conditions 1-5 we >reserve the right to BILL YOU for the amount of $9.95 for a >PERSONAL (free) type account or $29.95 for a business >account.

Well... I can't even see a way to violate those conditions :)

Coolin
May 8th, 2001, 23:25
Hmm... Datablocks is a good host. But they are untrustworthy. Although I filled in fake information, can I trust a host that wants to SELL your information?

internetsparadise
May 9th, 2001, 17:07
I almost always put in fake info. they arent making anything off of my personal info! :)

Ryan_man
May 9th, 2001, 17:11
Even if they DID have your address and phone, do you really think that you have to pay a bill if it comes in? I mean it is not a signed contract, therefor the most they can do is take away your service... they can't do anything! I feel so powerful ;)

meow
May 9th, 2001, 17:19
Yeah, but anyway...there were some nasty things in that TOS. Selling info is kind of the big boo-boo.

Itwasthatwas
May 9th, 2001, 17:42
I never got a confirmation e-mail, but I still get they're spam... they force you to suscribe to 5 newsletters, or whateva you want to call these things (since they'ren ot really newsletters)...

DroidCollector
June 2nd, 2001, 04:22
This is my secret.especially good for porn sites that you no longer want to belong to.Use YAHOO mail.It has the best feature one could ever ask for.BLOCKING.And trust me I use it heavily.Hehe.After signing up for that crap,just wait till you get a few emails from the newsletters and then block them all.Voila.. :cool:

gyrbo
June 2nd, 2001, 04:46
Or just unsubscribe :D

DroidCollector
June 2nd, 2001, 05:36
I tried that link and it appears that I am being redirected to something else.Is this correct because I can not get to that site?

ducktape
June 2nd, 2001, 18:22
Mr. John has been blowing smoke out his you know what from the get go. Ive been a long time critic. It was a great service that has turned into one of the worst host out there. Im not even sure if they are still around and if they are it cant be much longer. They have merged with or been bought atleast a dozen times. He keeps lying about the sale of the company and hes just the webmaster. John is a great guy for providing a fwp thats more than i have done but he need to be honest and straight forward with his users. Also he used to make a pile of money from sign ups so why did he change his TOS so he can sell your info for money?

martian
June 2nd, 2001, 18:52
Originally posted by DroidCollector
I tried that link and it appears that I am being redirected to something else.Is this correct because I can not get to that site?

me too

even when i typ www.datablocks.net in my browser I go to some sort of redirection advertisement page

Bruce
June 2nd, 2001, 19:26
datablocks is gone...