PDA

View Full Version : ecavite.org



gyrbo
May 12th, 2001, 05:01
http://www.ecavite.org/
They seem good, no ads, (15megs space), PHP,CGI,MySQL.

http://hosting.jmwebdesigns.com/index2.html
Also good.

[Edited by gyrbo on 05-12-2001 at 06:08 AM]

fatman
May 12th, 2001, 05:06
No external links are allowed on your site. To quote from their site, "We limit linking to external links to those links that we will email to you."

gyrbo
May 12th, 2001, 05:09
Yeah, but I don't really get that part anyway.

Baggio
May 12th, 2001, 05:44
yeah, that bit doesn't make much sense... :confused:

NC_TOM
May 12th, 2001, 13:16
Sounds like they're saying you can't even have links on your site!!

Of course they then say they'll e-mail you some links (ADS!!! go figure they aren't ad-free) and the links that they email you, you are free to put on your site.

fatman
May 12th, 2001, 19:58
Even if you simply ignore the fact that you're on their mailing list for receiving ads-links, plus the fact that they are not really no-ads (in a sneaky way), a web host that doesn't allow you to put external links is pretty much useless for most websites.

fatman
May 12th, 2001, 20:01
Originally posted by gyrbo


http://hosting.jmwebdesigns.com/index2.html
Also good.

[Edited by gyrbo on 05-12-2001 at 06:08 AM]

Has anyone ever used this before? No ads, but you must have an existing site for them to view first. On the surface looks good (email, PHP, Perl, etc) ...

Mikhail Hastur
May 12th, 2001, 20:01
They look like a portland reseller anyway.

fatman
May 12th, 2001, 20:16
I didn't know portland had PHP (I assume you're referring to ecavite.org here) or MySQL.

NC_TOM
May 12th, 2001, 21:07
Portland has both of these; they do look somewhat like a reseller.

JMWebDesigns is VERY VERY picky about who they will host. Tens of thousands of people have applied for hosting there and under 10 have been accepted. I only know 1 of these people.

Coolin
May 13th, 2001, 00:58
JMWebdesigns is in no way a Portland reseller. Look at the space they offer, it's different. If they were a Portland reseller, they wouldn't be so picky, but rather accept anyone.

Omari
May 13th, 2001, 01:39
Originally posted by Coolin
JMWebdesigns is in no way a Portland reseller. Look at the space they offer, it's different. If they were a Portland reseller, they wouldn't be so picky, but rather accept anyone.

no one said they were :)

NC_TOM
May 13th, 2001, 02:19
I was talking about JMWebDesigns in a whole different context. The only one that looks like a Portland reseller is Ecavite.org .

lhgraphicx
May 15th, 2001, 02:44
They also have a requirement


:Requirements:
- we will be sending an email to you.
- you need to sign-up on one or two of our programs for free you will get from your email.
- bring in at least 5 friends to avail our free hosting packages per month
- demographics information
- a lot of clicks from your visitors and yourself.
- we don't require any of our buttons and banners on any of your pages, but if you linked back using our logos, we greatly appreciate it.
- The hosting of adult or illegal material is not permitted.
- The hosting of MP3 files is not permitted unless you are the copyright owner of the files.