View Full Version : HIH Refuses to Disclose Datacenters
BaselineAce
August 6th, 2004, 08:12
Is this a red flag?
We have servers hosted at many different data centers. Unfortunately,
the locations of our data centers is something we prefer not to
disclose.
Thanking you in advance,
Sales Department
Hand In Hand Computing
Sales@HandInHandComputing.com
http://www.handinhandcomputing.com
Dallas
August 6th, 2004, 08:27
what is that mean? :)) news??
Riverworld
August 6th, 2004, 08:35
Is this a red flag?
We have servers hosted at many different data centers. Unfortunately,
the locations of our data centers is something we prefer not to
disclose.
It brings about curiosity, at the least.
It also makes one wonder, 'what are they trying to hide?' Afterall, you can trace things fairly easily and determine whom has rights to IP address'...
BaselineAce
August 6th, 2004, 23:44
It brings about curiosity, at the least.
It also makes one wonder, 'what are they trying to hide?' Afterall, you can trace things fairly easily and determine whom has rights to IP address'...
Yea, I came up with ThePlanet (for their website), and I see that their other data centers are in Houston (EV1 territory).
Curtis H.
August 7th, 2004, 18:01
Is this a red flag?
We have servers hosted at many different data centers. Unfortunately,
the locations of our data centers is something we prefer not to
disclose.
Obviously they don't car to provide basic information and that is a red flag. A physical mailing address is listed on the site if you look hard enough but no phone number is mentioned. A whois shows the same post office box and no phone number also.
I'd say look elsewhere. :wink2:
Registrant:
Hand-In-Hand Computing
PO Box 20206
Floral Park, New York 11002
United States
Registered through: GoDaddy.com (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: HANDINHANDCOMPUTING.COM
Created on: 23-May-03
Expires on: 23-May-05
Last Updated on: 23-Apr-04
Administrative Contact:
Computing, Hand-In-Hand handinhandcomputing@hotmail.com
PO Box 20206
Floral Park, New York 11002
United States
0000000000
Technical Contact: Computing, Hand-In-Hand handinhandcomputing@hotmail.com
PO Box 20206
Floral Park, New York 11002
United States
0000000000
Domain servers in listed order:
NS1.HANDINHANDCOMPUTING.COM
NS2.HANDINHANDCOMPUTING.COM
jmiller
August 7th, 2004, 18:15
Fake whois info?
Definately go for a different host.
In fact, I would go so far as to report this if I were you.
BaselineAce
August 7th, 2004, 18:27
Who should I report it to?
Corazu
August 7th, 2004, 21:45
That's what I am thinking...who would you report it to? The DC's? ICANN?
Regards,
pal
August 8th, 2004, 02:42
On whois report I do not see any point in reporting though. People at times adopt for whois privacy.
But not disclosing their data centers for sure makes the things suspicious.
leyther
August 9th, 2004, 05:00
The stats for HIH are here they use THEPLANET :biggrin2:
http://your-host.uni.cc/HIH.JPG
Trel
August 9th, 2004, 05:55
You can report fake whois information here: http://wdprs.internic.net/
Coight
August 9th, 2004, 09:50
On whois report I do not see any point in reporting though. People at times adopt for whois privacy.
But not disclosing their data centers for sure makes the things suspicious.
It's against Icann's rules and regulations to provide false information in your whois.
Coight
August 9th, 2004, 09:51
The stats for HIH are here they use THEPLANET :biggrin2:
http://your-host.uni.cc/HIH.JPG
They actually use servermatrix the cheaper version of theplanet. If the trace contains "sm" just before hitting their server it means they are using servermatrix.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.