PDA

View Full Version : FreeDedicatedServers.com



eggman
June 4th, 2001, 14:17
This is strange.

There is a site (http://www.freededicatedservers.com/) that are offering free dedicated servers (duh). They do everthing for you, and your site can have any content. But you need more than 2,000 page hits per day.

What's with this??

Are there any more sites like this??:)

martian
June 4th, 2001, 14:27
it's fake don't believe what they say it's a scam
i can't believe how many people keep posting things about them...

WorldWarGeneral
June 4th, 2001, 14:58
I've never heard of this "freededicatedservers.com" But you're right - it does sound rather unscrupulous. They even offer to host warez sites...

From their site:

Our service is ideal for:

Free Website Hosts

Archive Sites

Image Libraries

Search Engines and Index Sites

Forums and Message Boards

Adult / Password / Warez Sites (We can arrange free servers in safe jurisdictions)

MLM and self replicating sites.

Political Campaign Sites.

Any high traffic site.

Even their I-Frame demonstration has links to "get a college degree in one day!!"

martian
June 4th, 2001, 16:02
Originally posted by WorldWarGeneral
I've never heard of this "freededicatedservers.com"

Search the forums for other posts about this "service".
Nobody believes in the reality of freededicatedservers.com

Rick
June 4th, 2001, 19:25
It's a heckuva good deal... For them.
You know you are getting a good impression rate or you wouldn't even sign up, sooooo... They have you post their banner ads on your site for 7-10 days while they get paid for your impressions. After they have their money, they send you an apologetic e-mail saying that, while your impression rate was wonderful, your site is not quite what the sponsors are looking for, and that they are not willing to expend the resources on your site at this time... Please try a gain some other time...We can always use a few thousand more free impressions from your site.
In other words... Don't waste your time

Chicken
June 5th, 2001, 10:02
Originally posted by Rick
It's a heckuva good deal... For them.

Just thought I'd highlight the most important part of that post, one more time :D

Note that ads are shown on your site for 14 days. Gee, wouldn't it be great if you could have your ads shown on stupid people's busy sites? I'm guessing their ad numbers are pretty good, sad to say.

xtony
June 5th, 2001, 10:42
They are scamz,,,,,,Damn

Ryan_man
June 5th, 2001, 16:35
Well................... DUH!
You accually think that someone would be that stupid to give away a free dedicated server with all these options for FREE? lol. Some of you newbies are so naive. ;)

Go Dot Yourself
June 6th, 2001, 11:58
Sounds like someone is stealing my idea! But im only offering hosting....

martian
June 6th, 2001, 12:01
Originally posted by Go Dot Yourself
Sounds like someone is stealing my idea! But im only offering hosting....

huh!? i don't get your point now:confused:

Epgs
June 6th, 2001, 12:32
no unless he was gonna try and create a scam

JustinSurfer
June 6th, 2001, 13:17
the fact that they were offering you a choice of server just about said it all 64mb 533 celeron or 512mb Pentium 4 .......

Hmmmmmmmmm

I wonder which one i will choose - the biggest scam ever

cowax
June 6th, 2001, 17:55
I do believe that there hasn't been a person on this forum who said they signed up and were accepted (or atleast stayed with them).

NC_TOM
June 6th, 2001, 22:07
I know people who signed up.. but were not accepted. I bet the whole group at FreeDedicatedServers.com doesn't even own a single server!