View Full Version : Does anyone know what this is?
Toefur
September 27th, 2004, 03:31
http://synow.org/
I thought it was kind of odd finding a post from me on some random website, but it would seem that it is a mirror of the forums and posts here at fws.net. :confused4
LeX
September 27th, 2004, 05:23
Interesting. How'd you find it?
Wojtek
September 27th, 2004, 08:01
looks to me as probably someone who copied the forums, slapped some adsense on that and hopes to make a few bucks
Robert
September 27th, 2004, 08:32
Actually it's a very common trick.
What he did was copy the archive folder of this website to his site and added his footer with some "info" of his services. Now, all the archive's are in html and not php, they will be picked up by search engines (Google, Yahoo, WebCrawler, etc) and because there is a variety of "keywords", he hopes that those pages will show up when someone does a search for say free web space. Of course they will not find they are looking for, but they will see his site's footer information and go to it.
It's stealing though and Peo should notify his upstream provider.
kabatak
September 27th, 2004, 11:17
How do you actually copy an archive folder?
notnamed
September 27th, 2004, 16:47
There are programs that will follow all the links on a specific page and download all HTML and images off of them.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.