View Full Version : Sorry todo this Peo & Chicken and others .....
Technics
November 22nd, 2000, 09:36
From: "Zia Ishak" <bzaya@bigpond.net.au> Save Address - Block Sender
To: <max@flashtechnics.com> Save Address
Subject: hahaha
Date: Wed, 22 Nov 2000 12:11:38 +1100
Hi,
Gcites is no more so hahaha your the one who wasted your time going around
saying ----. I always will make more money then openhosting.co.uk :) you run
a little hosting company haha wow. I have relatives in the oil business it
goes alot more further then your little hosting business good bye and good
luck btw alot they can do im only 13 :) my dad registered the domain for me. I did it for fun.
-------------------------
Just thought id post his email to me which he must of sent shortly after being caught.
Oh and by the way i dont own openhosting im a sales rep. Its owned by adam and mark.
brownpau
November 22nd, 2000, 10:37
Wow. So that's it?! GCites was just being run by this child?! Although I already suspected it reading his FAQ. Hoo boy. His poor members.
Does this happen often in the FWP world?
Christy
November 22nd, 2000, 11:41
Wow...I wonder how many members he actually had
jvv
November 22nd, 2000, 11:45
Wow... I think Ron must have a sixth sense here, every time he gets into a real long argument with someone, it appears to be a minor... TCH, that alex dude, gcites...
brownpau
November 22nd, 2000, 12:05
Why ARE these minors trying to dupe people into using their FWP "services" anyway? Just for fun? Oh, wait... so they can hack into people's passwords and email, right?
Ron Seigel
November 22nd, 2000, 14:21
Originally posted by jvv
Wow... I think Ron must have a sixth sense here, every time he gets into a real long argument with someone, it appears to be a minor... TCH, that alex dude, gcites...
Let's just call it 2+ years of watching these losers come through here and doing my best to uncover them. They get pretty easy to pick out after a while. ;) They almost always offer ad-free hosting and a fully loaded server. They know they don't have to pay for it (daddy is - until he gets the first big bill at least) and they know if it sucks (which it usually does) they can just walk away.
Either put up with ads on your FWP or pay for hosting. That's the only long term solution.
Chicken
November 22nd, 2000, 17:48
Originally posted by Ron Seigel
They almost always offer ad-free hosting and a fully loaded server.
Ad-free is a sure sign of death coming. OC12 server is a sure sign of death coming. 13 years old is a sure sign of death coming. Doing it 'for fun' is a sure sign of death coming. I've never really though running a business was 'fun'. Generally it is a royal pain in the buttocks. If you are having fun than you are undermotivated. :)
}:8) Supermoo
November 22nd, 2000, 23:12
Um... sorry to take the conversation back a bit (I don't normaly read these posts :() But what did he do illegaly?
<edit>
Oh don't worry found it!
He had an illegal copy of AllManage for those tuning in! :)
</edit>
[Edited by }:8) Supermoo on 11-23-2000 at 12:36 AM]
Koolguy
November 23rd, 2000, 00:05
Geeze! The site looks like someone who is 8 built it not even 13!!
brownpau
November 23rd, 2000, 00:19
Hmmm, now GCites.com is back as a "Banner Link Exchange." And what's this? Host50.com? And I wonder who these poor folks are (http://host50.com/search.cgi?cata=e)?
Ron Seigel
November 23rd, 2000, 01:13
I guess being a FWP wasn't 'fun' anymore. :p
YIKES!!! That host50 thing is HORRIBLE! I don't think I've *ever* seen a worse abuse of color. Ahhhhhh! I'm still seeing spots!
I guess he started up yet another FWP under a different name. It's a safe bet to stay the heck away from host50 methinks. ;)
hostfifty
November 23rd, 2000, 02:03
Glad you like the design Ron ;-)
We aim to please.
brownpau
November 23rd, 2000, 03:56
Ron - I remember host50.com being there even while GCites was still up. Looks like the kid had a backup plan ready beforehand. Or a friend with the same idea.
Why do they INSIST?!
And I'm seeing spots too. I'd say this design is a Worst of the Web (http://webworst.about.com) candidate. :D
Mandrake
November 23rd, 2000, 13:13
Originally posted by }:8) Supermoo
Um... sorry to take the conversation back a bit (I don't normaly read these posts :() But what did he do illegaly?
<edit>
Oh don't worry found it!
He had an illegal copy of AllManage for those tuning in! :)
</edit>
[Edited by }:8) Supermoo on 11-23-2000 at 12:36 AM]
Just curious, but what is AllManage?
}:8) Supermoo
November 23rd, 2000, 13:56
Program capable of making your own Geocities or in this case Gcites. It's the back-end and all the CGI interfaces in one script you can download.
http://youthofamerica.org/prowebpages/ - Nolonger available
From CGI Resource index:
AllManage is a program that will turn your website into Geocities or Angelfire. We have all the items that you could need, including set amount of disk space, auto or manual approval of new applications, limit number of accounts, full admin control, suspend, remove or add member and much more.
kyber
November 24th, 2000, 09:49
I have new url for allmanage somewhere.... I'll check my records and return if I find it :)
It wasn't easy to find...
LawTown Junky
November 24th, 2000, 11:43
i know he stole that background pic from somewhere kus i have seen it before
LawTown Junky
November 24th, 2000, 11:45
yup i knew they did
they stole that background from
jakethesnakeddt.com (http://www.jakethesnakeddt.com)
be original u bastards
MOD NOTE: Fixed link, note that HTML is not turned on but vB Code (http://www.freewebspace.net/forums/index.php?action=bbcode) is.
[Edited by Chicken on 11-24-2000 at 02:01 PM]
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.