PDA

View Full Version : DotWorlds.net Offering Free Domains



priestess_isis
April 11th, 2005, 15:54
At their site (http://www1.dotworlds.net), for a limited time, you can register up to three domains for free, this applies to all catagories.

It's pretty good, I just registered wandering.goddess, serene.designs, and angelic.anime for free.

They offer DNS as well, but I think the domains can only be registered up to one year...

GPWebHosting
April 11th, 2005, 17:25
and you need to install there plugin for it to work

priestess_isis
April 11th, 2005, 18:51
Accually, no, I got to the site without having to install anything...

BoxBoy
April 11th, 2005, 20:38
awesome

sounds rollecking :D

but 4 some reason my activation code doesn't work

dhiren
April 12th, 2005, 03:30
excellent, I registered one for me.

GPWebHosting
April 12th, 2005, 03:43
http://www1.dotworlds.net/faq.php#18

Robert
April 12th, 2005, 09:12
In order for your website to actually work, the user needs to d/l the plugin. Not worth the time and d/ling.

dhiren
April 12th, 2005, 09:36
What??? it means every visitor has to download their plug-in to view our site in their browser???? Thats ridiculous.

hangupnow
April 12th, 2005, 15:49
hello ......thanks for the info. I must say I took 2 free dotworlds domain names and they work fine. Process is not difficult. Forwarding is great/simple/quick and I can change it any time.

Also My friends can all see my new site (and I dont care about the other 50 million users who would want to visit my site anyway)

By the way, you DONT need any plugin to use the email addresses for these domains and they are unspammable

melode
April 12th, 2005, 16:15
could you show your site please? i just wanna test

TravisL
April 12th, 2005, 22:09
It could include spyware, not worth the risk.

hangupnow
April 12th, 2005, 22:27
Hello Melode

(Thanks TDL, I did check before and it is ok, there is no spyware/ adware etc etc at all in the plugin).

If you want try something here is www.bed.time that I set up for a friend...it sort of says everything about her relationship (the names of the parties are being witheld cos they are guilty ...of course)

Dont forget you need to upgrade your browser (download plugin on www.dotworlds.net) to view

Any problems let me know.

Regards

Eagle111
April 12th, 2005, 22:45
can you tell me where the plugin installs to?

i searched the add/remove programs in the control panel, but i can't find it

TravisL
April 12th, 2005, 22:48
it installs into your browser. IE it works with, it doesnt work with Firefox. At least not mine.

GPWebHosting
April 13th, 2005, 00:30
i would say stick with www.dot.tk or you can
also get a .info for 0.99¢ at http://domains.aplus.net

hangupnow
April 13th, 2005, 04:04
shud see it in your add remove programmes. I have it in mine

priestess_isis
April 13th, 2005, 14:56
:/ Yeah, the plugin thing is annoying... but I suppose you could always make a gateway to the site telling the visitors to install the plugin to see the site, but I don't think most visitors would take the time to install the plugin.

Anyway, I changed my mind, I'll stick with my uni.cc domain for now.

TravisL
April 13th, 2005, 15:35
uni.cc is good. DotWorlds is just a modified sub-domain type service, using a special server to operate those domains. No doubt when ICANN gets wind of this, things will go down a whole different direction.

Eagle111
April 13th, 2005, 16:47
what's the plugin called?

hangupnow
April 13th, 2005, 18:06
I think the plugin is just called "dotworlds"

A friend of mine told me they are true top level domains bcause "wysiwyg" (whatever that means)

I have to admit I was a bit puzzled/worried at first but I went to check out some of their members websites (I found loads of examples on their website) and I saw there were from everywhere usa/europe/australia/china (or japan or something I can never tell) so I think it must be reasonably big

anyway i thought what the hell, it is all free (I like that sort of thing) so i run one website as two (in parrallel) and I can now be seen in both places by two groups on the interent for nothing extra. CAnt be bad. Now I need some free holidays

hangupnow
April 17th, 2005, 20:36
re firefox and dotworlds. Check FAQ 30 on www.dotworlds.net . Not sure it is ideal, but it seems they are working on new upgrade/plugin for release soon

Special Forces
April 20th, 2005, 16:23
I think the plugin is just called "dotworlds"

A friend of mine told me they are true top level domains bcause "wysiwyg" (whatever that means)

I have to admit I was a bit puzzled/worried at first but I went to check out some of their members websites (I found loads of examples on their website) and I saw there were from everywhere usa/europe/australia/china (or japan or something I can never tell) so I think it must be reasonably big

anyway i thought what the hell, it is all free (I like that sort of thing) so i run one website as two (in parrallel) and I can now be seen in both places by two groups on the interent for nothing extra. CAnt be bad. Now I need some free holidays

WYSIWYG=What you see is what you get

How does that have anything to do with a domain? Obviously what you see is what your going to get.

I don't trust any domain such as this. Dot.tk is another example. It's slow and contains popups. People tell me you can turn it off and I had an account and trust me they still have pop unders. I would just get the $10 for a real trustworthy domain name. I mean come on it's only $10 for an entire year.

I wouldn't go to any site that asked me to download something in order to see it. I just click the little red X in the top right corner. ;)

hangupnow
April 20th, 2005, 21:07
Hi there

Yes sorry, perhaps I was not very clear.

I suppose to give you an example...and I will try and think of a better one later.....is that when you get an email that is masked. For example, you can get an email from what looks like "sex_kitten"...however, it is really from granny_jane1234@hotmail.com (which may or may not be a disappointment)

with these domains from dotworlds, they are top level domains..FOR example the address www.bed.time (http://www.bed.time) is EXACTLY that . I know you need a browser upgrade, but I downloaded it checked it out and it really works great. there is loads of new websites around I have never seen before. I understand if you dont wnat to have a go but if it makes a difference you can unsitall it in the add remove programmes in your control panel

anyway hope this helps :bandit2:

ExpertWebHost
April 21st, 2005, 01:20
Really frustrating to have a plugin download...
it really sucks..

i tried & deleted my domain..
baggy

hangupnow
April 21st, 2005, 03:58
I had no problem at all . really simple easy. If u need any help let me know

superhoster
April 21st, 2005, 04:04
install plugins?

no thanks.

if there was no virus, key logger, email spammer or anything like that in the plugin, they wouldent have a reason to have the plugin in the first place.

i suggest you all stay away from them.

hangupnow
April 21st, 2005, 04:48
I am not an expert by any means but this is really not the case. the reason for the plugin is only so your browser has access to another part of the internet

1) I have the plugin. I have checked it. it is absolutely fine. the is NO spyware/adware or anything like that...and just to be on the safe side, I have rechecked it with Norton - nothing, nada, zip etc

2) The dotworlds appears to work as a parallel universe (for the internet) with new and extra content. It is clear from their website that there are many users all over the world doing this now.

With all due respect to someone who has far more experience than me...I think the concerns that you express are an overreaction....very understandable with what is going on all aorund the web at the moment. But if people had been worried about all new innovation, we would still be using the telephones to check ipod prices instead of the internet :knockedou

amaro
April 22nd, 2005, 03:44
even when i installed the plugin i had problems

hangupnow
April 22nd, 2005, 05:14
What problems did you have? other than seeing loads of new websites I never seen before, everything is the same for me

thanks

amaro
April 22nd, 2005, 06:21
well with the plugin i still wasnt able to view the websites. and i dont liike how it changes windows ie error messenge i like it saything this page cannot be found but it says sumthing out and it looks weird

hangupnow
April 22nd, 2005, 06:38
Hi

what domain did u try. Try this one I saw www.groovy.baby (http://www.groovy.baby) or this one (but I think it is partly in japanese and not want you would think it is aboit - so if u have a langauge pack www.mini.mi (http://www.mini.mi) or even www.eminem.encore (http://www.eminem.encore)

these are all demos on the dotworlds site although it seems some of the domains list are still to be set up by some of their customers (there is a note to that effect shown under the list of samples - you can see on www.dotworlds.net (http://www.dotworlds.net) (at the botton left hnd side of page - each time u refresh the page u get another list of examples)