PDA

View Full Version : Does this sound sus?



giba_choo
July 31st, 2005, 03:54
I just talked to someone who said that I could register a domain through him, and pay with his adsense. This is what was said after I asked what ads I would need to place on my site-

That is not a problem, that we will fix after domains is registered
Check if domain you want is not registered before and after you find one you want pm email me to domains@dunex.org with domain name and:
Name:
Surname:
Address:
Email Adress:
Name servers for new domain: (both ns1 and ns2 from the host you want to host your domain on)
So i can place a registration, and in 24-48 hrs you will be contacted

This sounds sus, because my details are going straight to the domain registrar. This could be a way of scamming me into paying for the domain (ie. I might receive a bill in the mail one day)

What does everyone think?

icontact
July 31st, 2005, 04:01
I would imagine that this domain name is not free for life is it? So if you want to keep it then youre going to have to pay for it. At least the details at the domain registrar will be yours, gives you a chance to transfer it to another one of your choice if required.

Paying for your domain name is not a scam

giba_choo
July 31st, 2005, 04:11
I am keeping the adsense there for as long as I have the domain. I'd imagine that it would pay for renewal by the next year.

Jan
July 31st, 2005, 04:31
If it sounds suspect, don't fall for it. Simple :)

giba_choo
July 31st, 2005, 04:39
Too late Jan :(

I have spoken to the person about it for a while now though, and it does sound ok after all. This person also has a domain registered with the same registrar.