View Full Version : Is it a good host ??? Its cheap . Is it reliable and ok?
prem
July 13th, 2001, 14:50
In my pursuit for a cheap realiable host , I came across these really
cheap hosts ... ( you can try this , go to google.com search for
web hosting and on ur right there will be some ads of hosts , all these
guys will have really good discounted offers ... ) ...
The one that I have found to be suiting my requirements is :
www.2mhost.com . Also www.adaptive.net sounds cool .
If anyone of you know about them pls let me know about them , how they are etc etc .
By the way I chatted live with the customer support guy for the
2mhost.com .. atleast his support is in place ...
Any information will be helpful till I finally payup .
Thanks and regards
Prem
Valuablehost
July 13th, 2001, 14:51
I reccomend trying a search on webhostingtalk.com, i myself have never heard of these hosts.
gyrbo
July 13th, 2001, 16:27
2m: unlimited trafic :(
adaptive: NT host :(
Why don't you try Valuablehost, servus.ws or dim8.net? They are cheap and provide great service!
Gayowulf
July 14th, 2001, 02:16
What is wrong With NT hosting.
http://www.eclipsehosting.com/plans.htm Looks good too, but i dont know if you need all the features.
gyrbo
July 14th, 2001, 03:16
Nothing really, just the fact that you can't CHMOD anything.
Gayowulf
July 14th, 2001, 03:37
The scripts usually still work. change #/usr/bin/perl to C:\perl.exe (uaually)
Haze
July 14th, 2001, 17:36
I did a check a while back and found 2mhost to be a donhost ( or was it fasthost?) reseller. I think i posted it on webhostingtalk.com so go have a search.
ljprevo
July 14th, 2001, 19:44
That's incorrect, their credit card processing goes to a address of vault1.secured-url.com which the trace route on that sub domain goes to
inetnum: 213.171.192.0 - 213.171.197.255
netname: FASTHOSTS-UK-NETWORK
descr: UK's largest web hosting company
descr: based in Gloucester, England
country: GB
admin-c: RC2965-RIPE
tech-c: MW8691-RIPE
status: ASSIGNED PA
mnt-by: RIPE-NCC-NONE-MNT
changed: hostmaster@ripe.net 20000510
source: RIPE
I asked about this host before because one of my customers asked me about them, because they needed MySQL and PHP4. I told him to email the company, he did and here is what my customer's response was.
I wrote the sales people for company Information. This is all they sent. some company that sells server space. i do get nervous when the emails look like english is a second language.
Brian.
Dear Mr.,
Thank you for contacting us, As a reply to your questions, we would like
to inform you that:
our servers located in VDI network center, http://www.vdi.net
we not give a support phone number, and you will NEVER meed it.
Thank you again, please feel free to contact us for any further questions
or requests, We promise to do our best to help..
I did a Trace Route on 2mhost.com and found the host to be telling the truth about where their servers are.
They are located at http://vdi.net/
I did a whois on the domain name at Network Solutions and see that the domain name is listed to someone in Eygpt. Not that makes a difference at all, but I would want to know where my actual host was.
I told my customer to give them a shot, I have not heard back from him weather he has had a positive experience or not.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.