Blitz-Host
September 10th, 2005, 07:28
Dear all members
i want to tell you about the experience I had with WMS in the last couple of days. I took them up on this offer http://www.freewebspace.net/forums/showthread.php?t=75304 post #6.
Seemed really good idea to try it. When to sign up with them told me it all be ordered and ready in a few days, 1 day later I get told I can't get this with cpanel on a free trail I’d have to pay $19 for the cpanel and then get the server free for the month. Ok fair enough I chose to have WebMin as it was free so that was set up with a few hours all seemed good.
Then when a friend of mine looked a bit of closer at the server it seemed to look like VPS not a dedicated server, so i found this test on WHT http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=441290 and run it on the server to make sure and it comes back with that it is VPS
This is VPS Check. See if you are on a VPS
(c) A2b2.com 2005
You are on a Virtuozzo VPS
[root@reseller root]#
This is what I get back from ssh test I run
So watch out it seems to sell VPS but sell them as dedicated servers, this is total miss advertising, I am also sure I am prob not the only one for this to happen to and I am not sure what step to take next really, I have yet to talk to them about this and my knowledge of this, will keep you updated to what they say about it.
i want to tell you about the experience I had with WMS in the last couple of days. I took them up on this offer http://www.freewebspace.net/forums/showthread.php?t=75304 post #6.
Seemed really good idea to try it. When to sign up with them told me it all be ordered and ready in a few days, 1 day later I get told I can't get this with cpanel on a free trail I’d have to pay $19 for the cpanel and then get the server free for the month. Ok fair enough I chose to have WebMin as it was free so that was set up with a few hours all seemed good.
Then when a friend of mine looked a bit of closer at the server it seemed to look like VPS not a dedicated server, so i found this test on WHT http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=441290 and run it on the server to make sure and it comes back with that it is VPS
This is VPS Check. See if you are on a VPS
(c) A2b2.com 2005
You are on a Virtuozzo VPS
[root@reseller root]#
This is what I get back from ssh test I run
So watch out it seems to sell VPS but sell them as dedicated servers, this is total miss advertising, I am also sure I am prob not the only one for this to happen to and I am not sure what step to take next really, I have yet to talk to them about this and my knowledge of this, will keep you updated to what they say about it.