View Full Version : The TRUTH about fortunecity - WHY do you people not believe me?
syd
July 23rd, 2001, 23:40
OK some of you were saying it was fake because I had photoshop open. Hello, how else was I supposed to save the graphic file? If you don't believe me, GO to a fortunecity website!
HERE is the website
http://members.fortunecity.com/destinycentral/
Reload it a few times.
I don't appreciate being called a fraud when I did not edit the image. I am telling the truth. Sorry for posting the screencapture because it contained porno but I how else am I supposed to show this? Obviously nobody took my word for it.
Peo
July 24th, 2001, 00:02
I'm sorry if that's the case, but I still can not see any adult banners on that page. We will keep an eye on Fortunecity, but that link and this thread will be removed tomorrow at the latest if there's no other proof.
syd
July 24th, 2001, 00:06
Try and reload it a few times... I don't think it's been magically placed in my browser. It's also in a foreign language which I think is rather weird.
Maybe it does it at certain times in the day, because now it keeps reloading multicity ads. Trust me, this isn't a lame plug it's 100% legit.
NC_TOM
July 24th, 2001, 00:18
I reloaded a few times, and one banner came up in a different language (German?) but no porn ads. I clicked the German banner to make sure it didn't load a porn site.
syd
July 24th, 2001, 00:42
Must be the time of day.. or maybe the webmaster complained, I let them know about it too.
It pisses me off because I have a kid sister and she loves that site. It was on our bookmarks, and how would anyone like it if their 11 year old child/sister saw that stuff? Not appropriate at all for a site about a band that children like.
Max
July 24th, 2001, 00:48
You sure you did not surf to any naughty sites before this one? and got delayed popups and ----? :) Happens to me all the time..
syd
July 24th, 2001, 00:55
No... I don't go to porn sites. After all, that's why God created Morpheus. LOL
Anyways, I reloaded it at least 20 times when I first visited to make sure it wasn't a fluke, but it wasn't. I went back on around 9:20pm and there was another one. After Peo posted, I reloaded the site and Multicity ads popped up.
It might not happen before tomorrow, but trust me, I will prove all you wrong who say I'm a fraud :mad: You'll see... just keep watching that site, it'll happen again.
BTW, I think the ads were from Holland or somewhere around there, I'm not too familiar with European languages.
Max
July 24th, 2001, 02:20
Maybe Peo changed them when you discovered his conspiracy with fortune city :)
I think this forum have an direct link with fortune city, they scan all of our discussions.
Once any conspiracy is discovered fortune city takes counter messuarements and lure people into believing you are crazy..
:)
WorldWarGeneral
July 24th, 2001, 07:43
I didn't see the ad (except for the screenshot), but I wouldn't doubt it was there. Conventional banners are not making that much money anymore, but Adult banners do. (so I've heard)
Archis
July 24th, 2001, 15:02
I saw it twice, but I reloaded about 100 times. :)
hessan
July 24th, 2001, 15:15
are you sure about this? or do you just want alot of hits? lol :confused:
niv
July 24th, 2001, 15:16
Originally posted by hessan
are you sure about this? or do you just want alot of hits? lol :confused:
it's not syd's site.
hessan
July 24th, 2001, 15:18
oh.. my bad!:o
martian
July 24th, 2001, 15:52
i've been reloading the site for about 1000000000 times now, but I never saw the ad... bad luck?:D
jon787
July 24th, 2001, 16:38
I didn't see that on fortune city but I have seen that kind of stuff before in FWP ads.
meow
July 24th, 2001, 17:05
Can be amistake too. One banner go to the wrong place. Btw,what has the SITE to do with anything? Does geocities target their ads?
syd
July 24th, 2001, 17:37
Right, that is not my site!
Anyways, I think it may be a mix up on the ad service's part. Hasn't this happened before (maybe not with fortunecity) but Porn ads were in place by a ad agency mix up?
Wasn't it spaceports?
I have no vendetta against fortunecity, I would not make this up, because that's lame. I really did see some graphic ads on there and that's why I posted in the first place.
syd
July 24th, 2001, 17:40
Originally posted by Archis
I saw it twice, but I reloaded about 100 times. :)
So you saw the ads? See!! For some reason it never comes up untill... BANG! One after another. I thought my eyes were playing tricks on me so I reloaded it but it was real!
megagente
July 25th, 2001, 15:35
Hi,
It use to happen. I was with a spanish banner exchange service called cambia.net . They have categories of banner to show on your pages. Even if did not choose the porn banners they appeared on my site constantly. Using big incomplete text or unfinished phrases with no images or animation, just to call attention. When I click on the banners it was a porn site. Since 9kd.net went down I changed all the site and the banners.
thetakerfan
July 25th, 2001, 16:07
well, I just went to that link and on the first load I got a porno banner. I don't know if this is the same one from before becuase I didn't see that other post yet, but this is what I got
thetakerfan
July 25th, 2001, 16:08
this is the URL it links to
http://ads.fortunecity.com/RealMedia/ads/click_lx.ads/en/m_music/668679434/Top/fortunecity/Bulkad-July01-468-2/6710/34313530323766373362356633336330
which is http://www.mdixxx.de/index2.html
Chris
July 25th, 2001, 16:12
As much as I'd like to not believe it, it's true. I saw it after only two reloads.
syd
July 25th, 2001, 17:43
Told ya so... I think some people owe me an apology for calling me a fraud and liar in the first post :p
Nick
July 25th, 2001, 19:07
OMG! I saw this extremely distubing banner (http://wwng.hypermart.net/disturbing.gif) (!WARNING! do not look if you are under age!!)! It almost made me loose my lunch! Sorry I ever doubted you :rolleyes: .
el crapo
July 25th, 2001, 19:14
Originally posted by Nick
OMG! I saw this extremely distubing banner (http://wwng.hypermart.net/disturbing.gif) (!WARNING! do not look if you are under age!!)! It almost made me loose my lunch! Sorry I ever doubted you :rolleyes: .
thats just sick. and wrong.
beanmaster2001
July 26th, 2001, 05:19
i used to use fortunecity and i also got a porn banner every now and then, it just depends on whats roataing at the time. but 99.9% of the banners are ok.
Mandrake
July 26th, 2001, 10:06
It may depend on where you're from. I've been on sites from "far away" and seen banners for Phoenix-based businesses. They must pick up where you're from by your I.P. number or something. I noticed that the banner in the capture was in a foreign language so perhaps those of us in the U.S. never see them. Europe has more relaxed standards when it comes to nudity and such.
An interesting case of targeted ads failing was when I used to have an ISP with a local dialup number, but their headquarters were in Atlanta (Georgia). I used to see ad banners all over the place for local Atlanta businesses. That's really effective... :D
RobW
July 26th, 2001, 12:18
Hi guys,
I'm the product manager for FortuneCity's hosting sites. We do always check out the message boards - but it's no conspiracy. We would never consciously put porn ads on that kind of web site - our advertisers would kill us. Although we are taking this very seriously and are looking into what may have been the cause.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.1.7 Copyright © 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.