Closed Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Government Seizure? Or well played hoax...

  1. #1
    FWS Addict Seraphim is a splendid one to beholdSeraphim is a splendid one to beholdSeraphim is a splendid one to beholdSeraphim is a splendid one to beholdSeraphim is a splendid one to beholdSeraphim is a splendid one to beholdSeraphim is a splendid one to beholdSeraphim is a splendid one to behold Seraphim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Drawing Board
    Posts
    876

    Government Seizure? Or well played hoax...

    http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=10/11/26/1450257

    At first glance it looks like the government seriously seized a site.

    But something doesn't add up in the way it was done.

    I was discussing this with some people a little while ago, and am curious what you guys make of this.

    Is this really the government's doing through private contractors? Or did someone make a gigantic hoax.

    And in either case, what of the hosting company that is now completely crippled by this case. Most of the articles so far have only barely mentioned them so far.
    SeraphimLabs LLC, persistent hosting for your needs.
    Come what may we'll be there for you, keeping your dreams safe and growing.
    Chat with us, you don't have to be hosted by SeraphimLabs to get general tech help.

  2. #2
    Wait, What? DavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant futureDavidsAwesome has a brilliant future DavidsAwesome's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    California.
    Posts
    1,833
    Oh god I hope not.

  3. #3
    b& Zombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond reputeZombie has a reputation beyond repute
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,985
    I call bull----

  4. #4
    It gets better. Dynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant future
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,531
    Might be, they are pushing to pass the ACTA act. So get used to it if that passes, which it likely will.

    edit: Wait wait. Didn't Torrent freak have a similar article a few years ago about a site being seized and taken offline? I remember visiting and it had that message but it also logged your IP address.
    JavaKrypt

    "If you think education is expensive. You should see the cost of ignorance."

  5. #5
    JSHosts.com [JSH]John is a glorious beacon of light[JSH]John is a glorious beacon of light[JSH]John is a glorious beacon of light[JSH]John is a glorious beacon of light[JSH]John is a glorious beacon of light[JSH]John is a glorious beacon of light [JSH]John's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Newcastle, UK
    Posts
    1,957
    Here's some more information: http://rulingclass.wordpress.com/201...re-of-domains/

    A lot of domains have been seized lately, but the one in question simply changed to a .info as their server wasn't touched. Surely if they're going to seize domains they'd also take the servers offline?
    JSHosts - UK Web Hosting
    Web Hosting | Reseller Hosting | OpenVZ VPS | Xen VPS
    cPanel | Softaculous | CloudLinux | CloudFlare | R1Soft Backups

  6. #6
    It gets better. Dynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant futureDynash has a brilliant future
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    4,531
    They can't because the servers either aren't hosting anything illegal, they don't know the servers location, or they are out of the USA, therefore American governments can't touch them. They can only touch the domains, mostly .com because they fall under American jurisdiction - because of Verisign - so loads are moving their domains to the likes of .info because these don't fall under American jurisdiction - so they can't touch them and redirect them. That's all they are doing. They haven't removed ownership. They got ICANN to change the nameservers.

    It is just another tactic they are trying because they can't do anything real. So they're looking for every loophole possible until the ACTA and OPICA are passed (which I hope they aren't.)
    JavaKrypt

    "If you think education is expensive. You should see the cost of ignorance."

  7. #7
    cs-squad.net CS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud ofCS Squad has much to be proud of CS Squad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Where Else? My /home
    Posts
    1,752
    the same case happened to tvshack.net
    but after the domain is seized, the website owner immediately purchase tvshack.cc and migrate the whole site to continue to run the website.

Closed Thread

Similar Threads

  1. Government Jobs India | Indian Government Vacancies
    By sid0012 in forum Ads & Offers
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 23rd, 2009, 03:27
  2. Any one using or know of HOAX-BOX?
    By RickyG in forum Paid hosting requests
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: November 1st, 2004, 11:20
  3. AdvantageHost => a HOAX!?!
    By HORNET5090 in forum Free hosting requests
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: May 29th, 2004, 02:10
  4. Anyone played Typing of the Dead?
    By Weirds in forum General Discussions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: November 28th, 2003, 00:19
  5. is this one for real or is it a hoax?
    By Rexy in forum Free hosting requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: May 9th, 2002, 09:31

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts