alot of hosts do this just because they are runnin outta room and they just want the ad traffic to there 404 pages![]()
This place offers free with banner hosting, then deletes your site without warning and claims illegal content and/or no ads were being displayed properly. Thier service is under par, with constant FTP outages, and your actual site will disappear for days on end, and thier support forums disappear.
Not recommended for anyone who has a serious site in mind.
http://www.myjspace.com
I am not impressed as Im sure the paying customers wouldnt be either. My site http://www.imrtech.mirrorz.com/ has no illegal content and was displaying thier ads. Nice excuse for not being able to hande the bandwidth I think.
IMR
alot of hosts do this just because they are runnin outta room and they just want the ad traffic to there 404 pages![]()
-Tee
did you show the ads on every page?
Cause myjspace is very strict on ads... i almost got deleted for that.
Also, MYJSPACE is good to me, they have good FTP speeds, and also a nice phpmyaDMIN
MYJSPACE has MYSQL, PHP, and all other good stuff, but also 4host-you, which has very terriable ads, and lycos.co.uk, which has TOOO Large ads.
so myjspace isnt a bad host; its actually the host who has the least amount of ads on the webpage.
Also, if your some php script, make sure the ad is in the footer, so it shows on every page.
They might of deleted your site because maybe you were to close to your quota, because u have a Dreamcast site, must really take up space... I've just put pictures and postnuke, and ive only use 10 mbs... Also if i look at my site im not even using bandwith...
Last edited by drkmagic; June 15th, 2003 at 10:57.
Actually, my site was 10 meg off of the supposed quota of 50 megs. They offered unlimited bandwidth . If they couldnt handle a REAL site, they shouldnt of offered.
Great FTP speed? HAHA, that is to funny. When ever you can get on the ftp! They have "maintenance" every bloody day!
Looks like Im not the only one either: http://www.myjspace.com/forum.php?fo...age=1&msg=1435 and now they've posted excuses: http://www.myjspace.com/news.php?cod=29
This isnt the first time.
As for the ads, mate, they have a script putting thier ad on every page, like it or not. So them using that excuse is pretty droll.
Everything on my site will be mirrored at source forge, so by them saying there was illegal content really pissed me off. I would never have anything illegal. Everything is made with open source tools, so I really dont know what they are on about.
So I guess, if you have a real site in mind, that may have a bit of bandwidth, dont use myJspace. If you have a site with zero bandwidth, go for it.
As for MyJspace, I was thinking on going pay, because as you said, they were good. To bad they cant live up to what they promised.
I would love to find a true blue host that does what they promise. I really would.
IMR
Last edited by imr_technology; June 17th, 2003 at 00:38.
It's not short on ads either.
They have banners on EVERY page, PLUS popups every 6 minutes!
Forward Host - Taking your website forward since 2003
WEll couldnt you pick your own ad code to fit with?????????
Have you actually checked whether you really have some illegal contents that the host does not allow?
I got my school Forum there and i have no problems, but i hate the Ads (suposed Pop-unders...)
www.rosmini.uni.cc
![]()
Looking for Quality Webhosting?
Shared and Reseller Hosting, Domains. Since 2003!
Quality Dedicated Servers from $85!
Originally posted by imr_technology
This place offers free with banner hosting, then deletes your site without warning and claims illegal content and/or no ads were being displayed properly. Thier service is under par, with constant FTP outages, and your actual site will disappear for days on end, and thier support forums disappear.
Not recommended for anyone who has a serious site in mind.
http://www.myjspace.com
I am not impressed as Im sure the paying customers wouldnt be either. My site http://www.imrtech.mirrorz.com/ has no illegal content and was displaying thier ads. Nice excuse for not being able to hande the bandwidth I think.
IMR
Yea that must suck.. I mean c'mon, you're paying what? $0. and they have the nerve to delete your account without notice! I'd demand my entire $0 dollars back!
YourIP.us - Check your IP
Checksite.us - Check if a site is down or not
ReverseIP.us - Check how many sites are hosted on the same server.
Ha! funny.
Do you not realise, that even though they offer free accounts, they to must abide by thier own terms? If you are running a proper free host (like geocities or angelfire) you write the terms that you as a provider can abide by as well.
Dont offer what you cant provide. Deletion of a site without warning for "supposed" illegal content? Nice excuse.. I must remember that one!
I was testing the place out before I decided to pay for it. Im glad I wasnt stupid enough to pay upfront.
IMR
Don't even try that excuse "I was going to pay after I tested them". Yea and I'm the long-lost brother of Bill Gates.Originally posted by imr_technology
Ha! funny.
Do you not realise, that even though they offer free accounts, they to must abide by thier own terms? If you are running a proper free host (like geocities or angelfire) you write the terms that you as a provider can abide by as well.
Dont offer what you cant provide. Deletion of a site without warning for "supposed" illegal content? Nice excuse.. I must remember that one!
I was testing the place out before I decided to pay for it. Im glad I wasnt stupid enough to pay upfront.
IMR
YourIP.us - Check your IP
Checksite.us - Check if a site is down or not
ReverseIP.us - Check how many sites are hosted on the same server.
Yes Dark Magic, Im sure you and your illegal yu-gi-oh episode downloads are quite cosy at to-j. I wonder how long you will last once reported hmmm?Originally posted by drkmagic
did you show the ads on every page?
Cause myjspace is very strict on ads... i almost got deleted for that.
Also, MYJSPACE is good to me, they have good FTP speeds, and also a nice phpmyaDMIN
MYJSPACE has MYSQL, PHP, and all other good stuff, but also 4host-you, which has very terriable ads, and lycos.co.uk, which has TOOO Large ads.
so myjspace isnt a bad host; its actually the host who has the least amount of ads on the webpage.
Also, if your some php script, make sure the ad is in the footer, so it shows on every page.
They might of deleted your site because maybe you were to close to your quota, because u have a Dreamcast site, must really take up space... I've just put pictures and postnuke, and ive only use 10 mbs... Also if i look at my site im not even using bandwith...
http://yamiexegt.to-j.com/postnuke/m...rtid=15&page=1
IMR
Last edited by imr_technology; June 18th, 2003 at 15:15.
Imrtech, uhh i wanted to remove my site because i had to go to weird stuff. So I told Mr.Hands, and well he wants to remove it in 30 days....
IMR_TECH
maybe they removed your site for RACIST remarks
I've visited your forum(s) and see lot of racist comments supported by YOU
Darkmagic, i dont think you have any illegal content available to your adoring fans anymore do you? heh...
If its not one thing, its another.. racist remarks now? Last time it was spamming via myJspaces webspace, gee, I feel special.
Grow up kiddies.
I am a legitimate programmer for the Dreamcast. Homebrew= no profit. I was/am genuinly looking for free space, for this reason. If I pay for space, so must the people i program for. I dont want it that way.
The only way I can see why they took it down was the 21+ gig in downloads a month. On release day, its about 30 gig daily. So if they have 3000 people as they say, and have to start paying more after 60 gig of transfer, well, I feel bandwidth was the reason. Dont go accusing me of crap. Im tired of it.![]()
IMR
Bookmarks