Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 21

Thread: Need A Firewall

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    5
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Need A Firewall

    Hey,

    I've been using ZoneAlarm and its been pissing me off. It takes forever to connect with kazaa and it constantly kicks me off AIM. Does anybody reccomend a good firewall? Thanks...

  2. #2
    All? No, ALL! Matt8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    On The Internet
    Posts
    5,180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I personally like hardware firewalls only, as software ones just get in my way.

    http://www.kerio.com/kpf_download.html
    http://smb.sygate.com/download_buy.htm

    Those are both free versions of paid firewalls. Not sure if they suck or not, never used em, but I figure it's worth a try.
    -Matt

  3. #3
    NLC Robert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Kendall, FL
    Posts
    5,836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    "hardware firewalls" don't exist. All firewalls are software based.

  4. #4
    tripcode jmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    kanuckistan
    Posts
    4,895
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert
    "hardware firewalls" don't exist. All firewalls are software based.
    Robert, you know exactly what he means.

    A "hardware firewall" usually refers to something such as a router, and is more or less a proper term nowadays.

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...ll&btnG=Search
    Last edited by jmiller; July 15th, 2004 at 17:06.

  5. #5
    FWS Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    712
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    technically hardware firewalls use firmware not software, if you want to go that far into semantics

  6. #6
    NLC Robert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Kendall, FL
    Posts
    5,836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by jmiller
    Robert, you know exactly what he means.

    A "hardware firewall" usually refers to something such as a router, and is more or less a proper term nowadays.

    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...ll&btnG=Search
    A lot people think that hardware firewalls exist. They don't in that way.

  7. #7
    tripcode jmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    kanuckistan
    Posts
    4,895
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Robert
    A lot people think that hardware firewalls exist. They don't in that way.
    That is still considered a "hardware" firewall.

    Yes, it is a strange and improper name, but it's still correct under today's standards.

  8. #8
    Doctor Hexagon Canuckkev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    3,582
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    I've used Sygate Personal Firewall (link posted above) and it's a good firewall. Has lots of advanced features. I like it a lot better than any other firewall I've used (ie, Norton, ZoneAlarm).
    How-to-spell-ridiculous.com
    pinkypoint.com - The hand gesture for the 21st century.

  9. #9
    All? No, ALL! Matt8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    On The Internet
    Posts
    5,180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Excuse me Robert. I used that term because in this thread (about firewalls) it got my point across the easiest without confusing anyone. I seriously doubted anyone would raise a fuss about my somewhat-incorrect terminology, obviously I was wrong in that thought.
    -Matt

  10. #10
    boogie with stu stu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    (__o__)
    Posts
    1,988
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    there's always someone with ants in their pants
    - stu

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    What's wrong with ZoneAlarm? Were you using the Pro or the Suite version? Does Sygate have a trial version of their software?

  12. #12
    All? No, ALL! Matt8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    On The Internet
    Posts
    5,180
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by QReyes
    What's wrong with ZoneAlarm? Were you using the Pro or the Suite version? Does Sygate have a trial version of their software?
    They have a free version (for home/personal use) but doesn't have quite as many features I believe.


    EDIT: Just found this firewall in a lockergnome newsletter. See if its any good.

    http://www.mywebattack.com/gnomeapp.php?id=108165
    Last edited by Matt8; July 16th, 2004 at 16:47.
    -Matt

  13. #13
    NLC Robert's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Kendall, FL
    Posts
    5,836
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Ahh who needs a firewall? Let's all live on the edge...

  14. #14
    FWS Addict
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    712
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    ooooor live normally? I dont have one.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    203
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Quote Originally Posted by Matt8
    They have a free version (for home/personal use) but doesn't have quite as many features I believe.
    Thanks. For the others, here's the link http://smb.sygate.com/products/spf_standard.htm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •