• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

Police arrest 425 in raid at Kmart

Sounds like a case of power tripping police officers. Why in the hell would they arrest people in a situation like this? Sure, it's trespassing, but most cops would just break up the party. I'm not a lawyer, but I'm sure they have a potential lawsuit on their hands.

I can't believe they would acutally have a raid for something like this. There are much more important things to worry about. Save the raids for crackhouses.

how is that trespassing? if the stores were open, then the people would have the right to be there, if i were one of those people i would be sueing.

Originally posted by Who?
how is that trespassing? if the stores were open, then the people would have the right to be there, if i were one of those people i would be sueing.
You still aren't allowed to loiter like that. The parking lot is still technically private property.

The cops here in Houston have always been power hungry and egotistical. They even arrested customers of Sonic, a drive in burger place next to the Kmart. Of course, I think you are missing the main party responsible...Kmart. They are the ones who complained....and the cops wouldnt have arrested unless asked to do so by Kmart because who is the only party that can press charges? Kmart. You have to know the laws here in Texas. A person cant be arrested for being on another's property, unless that "other" tells the cops they are pressing charges. Otherwise, all the cops can do is run the people off.

So the cops were probably just doing what they were required to do by law....arrest the people when Kmart filed the charges. Somehow, that fact has escaped this whole news story :confused: