• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

New to domain registration:

allanh

Bankai
NLC
Hi, I am new to domain registration. However, I am thinking about getting one.

Can anyone please tell me what I should be looking for when I register a domain?

How much is a reasonable price for domain registration?

Is there a place where there is no annual fee?

Thanks.

Originally posted by allanh
Hi, I am new to domain registration. However, I am thinking about getting one.
Nice to meet you! :)
Can anyone please tell me what I should be looking for when I register a domain?
A register, they register domains for people like you and me and connect them to your name servers.
$8.99-$39.99 US Dollars a year for a top level ".com",".net" or ".org".
Is there a place where there is no annual fee?
No, or at least I don't think so.
Thanks.
No problem, it will be good to see you around again! :)

Originally posted by }:8) Supermoo
A register, they register domains for people like you and me and connect them to your name servers.
Uh... a "register"? I thought they were called "registrars".
Originally posted by }:8) Supermoo
$8.99-$39.99 US Dollars a year for a top level ".com",".net" or ".org".
Duhh.... she said reasonable, moo... I don't find USD$39.99 being very reasonable.. in fact, domains should be free!!

so, can anyone suggest a good place to register my domain? What I meant about no annual fee is that I can just pay upfront and not charged after that.

so, can anyone suggest a good place to register my domain? What I meant about no annual fee is that I can just pay upfront and not charged after that.

You have two choices: Annual or Free.

Almost all registrars charge annually, though you could pay for 10 years of registration.