• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

Interview Advice?

utcrazy

Wo ist mein handy
NLC
Hi Folks,

It's been quite a while since I've had a job interview. As some of you may know, I'm a freelance audio engineer working with sound reinforcement as well as some recording studio jobs. Over the next few months I am going to try to lay down some ground as far as either going on tour for the majority of my time, or perhaps taking a respectable audio rentals job for a few years to lay down some foundation for live sound installations. The sound gigs are nice currently, but I want to bankroll a bit more.

I have a few interviews this week. I got the rock solid resume together, the much sought after references, and now it's up to me.

What advice would you give for the perfect interview? Obviously I am going to try and impress with my vast knowledge, but it's about more than that.

Any advice you have would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

-Mark

When I had an interview (it was like last year sometime), the most important thing I had to know was about the company, how it started etc. Turns out I never got asked a single thing about the company though.

Live by the motto "Short and sweet (to stay on your feet)".

As said above, learn about the company your applying to work for/with..
It will impress the employer if you can speak out some things about the company.

While it is a good idea to learn a bit more about the company so you can get an idea of what you're in for and what they are looking for be careful trying to impress them with your knowledge of the company because if you start telling the interviewer about his company and you get something wrong, it will be very bad.