• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

Is Macromedia Dreamweaver MX 2004 the best?

chem3

Hi,

I am a fresh web designer, and I'm trying to start learning HTML, so I try to view the source file for each web page I surf trying to understand some of the HTML tags and their functions. But what attracted my attention was that in MOST of the web pages which I viewed their source file the following line would exist at the top of the source file:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
or,
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">

I guess this means that those web pages were designed using Macromedia Dreamweaver MX...How brilliant I am!
If my guessing was right, would that mean that Macromedia Dreamweaver MX is the best, the most commonly and the most widely-used program for designing websites???

chem3 said:
I guess this means that those web pages were designed using Macromedia Dreamweaver MX...How brilliant I am!
No, those are W3C tags. I for one don't believe in their standards, I believe the internet was supposed to be free.

No, you're not brilliant :p
Those tags like Meksilon said are W3C tags, doctypes. They tell validators what language the coding is in (HTML or XHTML) you only need doctypes if you want to validate your coding and when you validate, you also need character encoding.

pdrucker said:
you dont need them, but its still good to have for design guidelines. it helps compatibility.

well.. following w3c guidelines, you should place them...
if you did notice why some webpages view differently in another browser, that's because they did not follow the guidelines.

some browsers like nestcape ( newer version ) correct the common problems.