• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

Servers and Colocation Hosting

cobrastrike

I have been considering something for quite a while now, and as such decided you ask the community about my idea. I have been building servers for about 10 years now, and have always been able to get pricing better than what Dell, HP, and IBM can get to name a few. My idea is to offer built servers for people, and then colocate those servers for them and even offer onsite technical support. This would be different to your normal dedicated server provider however because if they wanted to cancel the colocation, they would have the server sent to them as they purchased it, and they could go onsite anytime they pleased.

I would like to know everyone's thoughts on this.

If you contact most datacenters, most will be able to provide that exact service. From buyout to Rent To Own (Where the client pays a slightly higher monthly cost for 6-12 months, and then the client owns the server and only pays colo costs)

Actually most datacenters that I have talked to WILL NOT provide a rent to own solution as they love that extra profit once the server is paid off.

Actually most datacenters that I have talked to WILL NOT provide a rent to own solution as they love that extra profit once the server is paid off.

Hmm, most if not all the datacenters I have talked to have offered it. But then again, we are talking about renting colocation space - Not just renting a server.

I can understand them not wanting to offer it if you are just colocating for that RTO server, but if you are coloing a rack, you will find they will go that extra mile to help you "Fill it up" ;) So you buy more space.