• Howdy! Welcome to our community of more than 130.000 members devoted to web hosting. This is a great place to get special offers from web hosts and post your own requests or ads. To start posting sign up here. Cheers! /Peo, FreeWebSpace.net
managed wordpress hosting

I don't get this nameserver thing..

cowboybebop

Ok so I sound like a total noob.. Well I still am I guess, I just bought my first VPS I've been on shared hosting for all this time. Well I bought it, I set up everything via the Cpanel, but how am I supposed to get it to work!

I mean, my domain is parked at GoDaddy.com, so how to I make that domain a name server :\

Can someone please tell me what I'm supposed to do, as at the moment i'm very confused :confused4
I thought I'd just have to put the name servers on my godaddy account [for "mysite.net"] as "ns1.Mysite.net" and "ns2.mysite.net" but It won't work :|

Get the sellers shared nameserver IP's, add 2 entries in the main domain DNS zone file using these as A records and use ns1 & ns2 or something, start named (use WHM for nameserver setup and it'll do that bit for you) and create nameserver records at your registrar - DONE! :)

lol.. im with you brother :p

Yes i can get my domain to forward to my server IP, but how the hell do i make the IP and Domain name interchangeable.

There should just be some form somewhere i fill out that says my domain shoud now be regarded as this IP, and there should be a setting in windows somwhere that says this ip can also be called this domain.
So why so dam complicated?

eg. http://202.163.64.199/testing/ to be the same as http://www.serenityx.com/testing/

Changing the name servers to the ones provided by the hosting company does nothing.

As far as the domain controll panel is concerend the "home directory" is service they provide that i didnt even pay for :/

All research on the matter has lead to confusion, so some one once and for all tel us what to do plz :p

EDIT: